Skip to content

Forgotten Band: Charlie

February 12, 2009

I’ve been checking out some obscure bands lately…of course, obscure is a weird concept. what makes a band “obscure?” Just that they’re not well-known? I don’t really know about that definition…I’m sure I’m the only one of my friends who listens to Skid Row on a regular basis, and I also am pretty sure I am the only person in the town of Chapel Hill who owns a Mr. Big CD. So are Skid Row and Mr. Big “obscure?” no, they’re not. they may not be popular among people in their 20’s, who weren’t conscious enough of pop culture to see them at their peak, but among the generation before us and music fans, they are certainly popular. I can’t even tell what obscurity is anymore…maybe there isn’t such thing. So I don’t know if this band is really obscure or unknown or what…but here goes. I just know that they’re new to me and I’m not sure I’ve ever heard anyone talking about them…and if i did I don’t remember. Hopefully I’m not the only one who missed this record.

Anyway, I stumbled across this band, “Charlie” on Kissmar a week or two ago, while I was trying to replenish my music collection after my unfortunate hard drive wipe-out. They’ve got a couple songs that are really sticking out for me…”Spend my Life with You” and “The Heartaches Begin” are two that come to mind. I give those tracks 5 stars…and there really isn’t a single song on the album that I don’t like.

charlie_tboc

Charlie was evidently formed in the 1970’s in Britain, and was active through the 80’s. they had a couple hits and made several CDs, they even have a greatest hits collection…yet they never really found success, just stayed on the fringe, as far as I can tell. They were first and foremost studio musicians, the drummer eventually went on to be tech for Iron Maiden, interestingly…but that meant they were never a typical band, and maybe that is what hurt them…Its too bad, they make really good AOR together…Just pleasant love songs, sing-along choruses and great riffs and vocals. A little keyboard too…but that never hurt anyone 🙂 Fun and mellow, really.

if you’re looking for something new to listen to…this is a fabulous album to start with!

http://kissmar.blogspot.com/2008/04/charlie-st-1983-aor.html

so that is the link to download their self-titled album…i’ve done a little reading and found that many people consider their album “Lines” to be their best work… and as one person said, one of the best albums of the ’70’s. That is interesting to me, considering how few people I know who have heard of them.

Anyway, if you haven’t, give this a try….you’ll like it, I hope!

And many thanks to Kissmar…not only for this album, but all the other greatness I’ve found on there.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    February 16, 2009 6:20 pm

    Charlie?!? Ha. Never heard of them but I love the name. Almost as good as Mike Tramp’s old band MABEL. What I’m really looking forward to is that new band called STEVE. I hear they’re great, almost as good as CLARENCE or KELLY.

    Love it. Ha.

  2. peter krause permalink
    May 5, 2009 11:49 am

    Yes I first heard Charlie in 1976 in Dusseldorg, Germany and thought them a good band.You should check out the German rock band Jane about the same time http://www.alexgitlin.com/jane.html

  3. okeydokey permalink
    June 8, 2009 12:08 am

    Wow…what a blast from the past! I had every Charlie album out. This was a great band even into the mid eighties here in the States. I once tended bar with a guy that was friends with Carmen Appice of “BECK, BOGERT, and APPICE” fame…anyway…he is who got me turned on to listening to CHARLIE. Thanks for reminding me about them.

  4. James Hill permalink
    September 28, 2009 9:38 pm

    From a 50 year old rocker. While in college and and checking out the progressive jazz sound, like David Sanborn, Grover washington Jr. Joe Samples and the like, Charlie was ther with “L.A. Dreamer”. A cool smooth song. Intrigued, I bought their debut album “Charlie” and still have it. A smart well written collection of songs that were between soft rock and jazz. It was great listening music while entertaining the female sex. They always asked “who’s that playing.” Thanks for reminding me of some really good music. Time to knock the dust off the L.P. cover.

  5. Mark permalink
    November 29, 2009 10:59 am

    I have been looking for a Charlie album for years. I am 45 and in my partying days a friend of mine had a brother (which was a friend of my brothers) who had a Charlie album that was awesome. I cannot remember the name of the album but there was a song called “Watchin TV”. I have 3 Charlie albums and I really want this one. Anybody can help write me @ dolphin1fan@aol.com…thx

  6. Margaret permalink
    February 7, 2010 11:39 am

    OMG! Finally! Getting ready for our 30th high school reunion and looking for our songs we partied to! For an hour, I have been on Google site looking for CHARLIE and finally found this site! Thank God! Because I couldn’t even think of one of their songs – just knew I liked them all!

  7. Margaret permalink
    February 7, 2010 11:43 am

    Just found some songs on Utube too!

  8. Margaret permalink
    February 7, 2010 12:09 pm

    Hey there’s a website…www.charlie-music.de/

  9. Roy permalink
    March 9, 2012 3:50 pm

    I am looking for a Canadian import album from the early 70’s. The name of the band is Charlie as is the name of the only album I know of. The album cover is brown with the band’s name diagonally across the front. The music is not unlike Robin Trower. I only know of one person that’s ever even heard of them and he owns a music store. He was kind enough to make me a cassett tape about 15 years ago from vinyl. I am looking for a cd or mp3 to replace my cassett. Anybody holding any Charlie?

Leave a Reply

