Skip to content

Happy Birthday Alice Cooper!

February 5, 2009

So it came to my attention this morning (Via myspace…my main source of information) that yesterday was Alice Cooper’s birthday.  HAPPY BIRTHDAY ALICE COOPER! So to celebrate, of course I must write a post for him.

Some of you may remember me saying in the past that I’m not a big Alice Cooper fan. That is a partly true statement. I actually really love Alice Cooper-the person. I think he is funny and honest and interesting. I love watching interviews with him, he is so genuinely cool. Certainly one of my very favorites.

As far as music goes…I’m sometimes surprised I’m not a bigger fan. I like most all his songs, I have a ton of his stuff. Hey Stoopid is one of my favorite albums. Yet I just never attached myself to him in the same way I attached myself to Motley Crue, or whoever. Didn’t run out to buy his latest CD, or anything…in fact, I can’t even tell you how many CDs he has out. I guess I’m a bad fan, but I honestly don’t have the time or desire to be everyone’s biggest fan, and I’m stretched thin enough.

Still, I think he deserves a little recognition from me. I’m going to post a few of my favorites songs…check it out!

I Never Cry

sorry, some of the clips I’ve had bookmarked were removed because of copyright…including this one…insanity! So I’m leaving you with a live video.

I know I’ve posted this before….hands down my favorite ballad. The lyrics on this are what really capture me…”like a heartache that got caught in my eye”…what could be a more perfect line? that lyric captured me the moment I heard it and I’ve been kept captive ever since…

Love’s  A Loaded Gun

One of those songs that you just have to read the title to know exactly what the song is about. Thats ok, though. great ballad.

Teenage Lament ’74

This is the song that made me like the 70’s.

Burning Our Bed

another amazing ballad…off of Hey Stoopid. You can hold my heart for ransom, but you’ll never own my soul. maybe I might lose my head, but one thing I’ll never do is swallow my pride crawlin’ back to you…baby I’m burnin our bed…

I really do think that Alice Cooper was one of the most gifted songwriters in his genre. Despite his villain character, he is instantly likable and relatable. He isn’t seeking to offend. His lyrics are moving and the melodies catchy…a rare combination. Many artists can pull  a one-hit-wonder out of that fabric, but never can quite do it again. Alice Cooper has made a career out of doing it again. Alice, you rock.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    February 6, 2009 10:17 am

    Couldn’t agree more. Totally nice guy in interviews, definitely like his music, just never bought any of it! I think some of that has to do with a generational gap (or three or four in your case, ha) but that’s no excuse. He’s an original!

    Nice post.

  2. dan permalink
    February 11, 2009 12:41 am

    Alice Rules !!! & you can’t find a nicer guy, or who does more for his fans…signs whatever you ask him too…a real class act…

    one note, he works with a lot of outside songwriters, so check your fave songs coz he has not written all of them…

Leave a Reply

