Skip to content

hello again!

January 29, 2009

Sup.

I’ve been MIA for the better part of a month now, with no good excuse. Although, if you really wanted me to I could certainly come up with plenty of good reasons why I’ve only done maybe two posts since Christmas…I’m actually a little disappointed about that because i had a lot of great plans, but life caught up with me, y’know? In the next few months I can’t guarantee how much I’ll be on here because I’m barely swimming as it is, but I’m going to do my best to get back to my daily posts.

Fun fact: my computer died (aka, it caught a virus that renamed my harddrive so I had to completely wipe it) and I lost all the music that wasn’t on my external harddrive. Im starting from scratch! it isn’t as much fun as it sounds, actually…but anyway, for the last couple weeks while I overhauled my computer I’ve been living mainly off of CDs, which I haven’t done in a long time, since I’ve become so accostomed to playing music off my computer.

Thus, I’ve become disproportionately addicted to Tesla, lately.

I bought my first Tesla CD quite a while back, and as far as I can tell I must have listened to it once and then thrown it in the drawer…haven’t picked it up in a long time. But after falling in love with Forever More (their 2008 release, which i included on my “Top 5 of 2008” list) I decided to dig them out again.

I’m really mad I’ve had this treasure in my closet all this time, and yet barely glanced at it.  They’re one of those bands that just can’t be categorized…they’re not hair metal, not flashy glam, they’re not heavy metal…just plain old Rock n Roll, and a lot of fun. Without a doubt, the vocals are what drew me in. They strike me as following in the vein of Steven Tyler, but with a slightly sleazy quality that Jocke Berg would be jealous of. Lyrically and musically, they’re really not sleazy at all. In fact, with the exception of my collection of jazz and big band recordings, Tesla may be among the most wholesome bands in my CD drawer. Good solid content, some of the best ballads in the business…

Check them out!

Love Song…great ballad

Paradise

tried to find the song “Just In Case” off of Forever More, which really just touched a nerve in me, for whatever reason…great song, but not available on youtube…too bad!

Anyway, thats all I got…just thought I’d let you know I’m still alive!

Rock ON!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2009 12:33 pm

    Hope you’ll consider getting ShipRocked with Tesla in November!

    http://www.getshiprocked.com

  2. holepuncher permalink
    January 30, 2009 5:36 pm

    I totally almost wrote about Tesla today, too. “Love Song” = classic.

    What’s with these musical cruises anyway? I don’t get it. Shouldn’t rock and roll be played in clubs and stadiums???

  3. January 30, 2009 6:14 pm

    I honestly think it would just make me nauseous

  4. Carmen permalink
    May 26, 2009 6:49 pm

    Tesla rocks and one of the first bands to ever do an unplugged album with the five man acoustical jam. Got to see them live in 2005 which was awesome. They did a cover of Immigrant Song by Zeppelin very impressive.

Leave a Reply

