Skip to content

Stick It To Ya

January 7, 2009

I buy a lot of music, but it still seems that no matter how many new CDs I come home with, there is still something missing. Collecting music is both fun and extremely aggravating, because there is always something more to get. You never really “have it all”, although some collectors do seem come close. However, there are some CDs that are staples in almost everyones’ collections, and no true hair metal fan-or any MUSIC fan, for that matter-should be doing without. Slaughter’s Stick It To Ya is certainly one of these.

I pulled this CD out to listen to in the car this morning, kind of on a whim. I usually just stockpile CDs in my front passenger seat (some of them have probably never left my car before), but I cleaned it out recently, sorted them alphabetically, and put them away. So now I’m back to a clean slate, and I picked out something that I haven’t played in a while to spin on my way to the post office.

Its no surprise to me how awesome Stick It To Ya is, because Mark Slaughter is freakin’ amazing. I think the raspiness of his voice on some of the songs is a bit of an acquired taste, and it reminds me a bit of Dangerous Toys’ Jason McMaster,  but the album also showcases a softer, melodic side that anyone could enjoy. Every song has a catchy hook, guaranteed to get you rockin’.  It is one of those albums where the more you listen to it the more you can’t stop.  Some of the lyrics I find a little amateur…i’m pretty sure they could have done better than to write the line “liar liar pants on fire” into a song. But that is a minor complaint in the grand scheme of things.  There isn’t any profanity on this record that I’ve heard, no violence, no obscene sexual references…so despite having a slightly provocative cover, this CD is pretty safe. You can even play it in front of Grandma. But who cares…the attitude here comes from the performance itself, not from them telling you about it. The way it should be.

Anyway, here are a couple youtube song clips, hopefully they’ll make you as happy as they make me 🙂

Desperately…perhaps my favorite song on the record

You Are The One…my other favorite

 

And of course….who can forget “Fly To the Angels.” One of the best ballads out there, the end.

 

Rock on!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    January 12, 2009 9:23 am

    Ahh, Slaughter. I used to like this album back in the day and then I remember someone making fun of the lyrics “Up all night, sleep all day.” It took me a little bit and then I realized, sadly, that they were right – those are some pretty banal lyrics even within an enjoyably shallow genre.

    That said, those were some damn catchy tunes. I think I even saw Slaughter in concert with Warrant and Trixter? Or maybe it was Firehouse? At any rate, it was a blast.

  2. January 13, 2009 11:18 pm

    Very good review…And I’m with ya on this one, I love this album! I agree, a definate “must-have” for any fans of 80’s/early 90’s rock/hair metal.

Leave a Reply

