Skip to content

Top Albums of 2008…the Glam It Up! version

December 28, 2008

So I’ve been a little MIA lately…it is the holidays, you’ll have to forgive me. But now Christmas is over and the new year is around the corner…so it is time for me to look back on some of the music that came out this year, and pick my favorites. I know, everyone else has already done this on their blog, so I’m behind…but whatever.

I think I’m only going to pick 5 favorites, 10 is the usual number but I’m not sure I can find 10 that I really, really liked enough to put on top of the list. Actually, I’m already having trouble remembering some of them. So I’m just going to pick the ones I find the most deserving, and then maybe later I’ll add some more, or  I’ll list out the ones I hated. that’ll be fun, right? haha. Let me know what you think! It is fun to compare.

5) Tesla-Forever More. This is only #5 because honestly, I haven’t had a chance to listen to the thing in its entirety yet…I haven’t bought it, although I really want to and probably will very soon. I’ve listened to a lot of it online, though, and I think it is great. I’ve never been a huge Tesla fan either, but this CD ROCKS. The bits and pieces I’ve heard have blown me away, I can’t wait to get the rest. Isn’t that the mark of a good CD? hah.  Standout Song: Fallin’ Apart. I’m a sucker for a good ballad.

4)Hinder-Take It To The Limit. I’ll probably get grief for putting this, I don’t  care. Allyson @ Bring Back Glam had Britney Spears on her list, so I guess anything goes these days (haha, I’m just playin!). I really did like this album a lot. I definitely think it was much better than their first album, and has a lot of oldschool glam influence. I don’t care for their personalities, I think they’re an arrogant bunch of flips, but this CD was definitely catchy and drew me in. I’m still listening to it. I don’t think they perform live well, though. but the recorded version works for me 🙂 Standout Song: Loaded and Alone is one of my favorites. Heaven Sent and Without You are two of my other favorites.

3)H.E.A.T.-H.E.A.T..You may remember I wrote a review of H.E.A.T. a while back. I think their debut album is excellent. I’m not going to rehash what I said before, but you can read my thoughts on it here. Late Night Lady may be one of my favorite songs of the year.

2) Dave Barnes-Me You and the World. Not glam, give me a break. I love Dave Barnes, I think he is one of the best artists no one knows out there. I’ve met him twice and I’ve done a lot of publicity work for him, and he is just an all-around great guy. The thing I like best about Dave Barnes is that he can be silly at times, but he knows how to be real and relevant. All his songs really mean something. there are no wasted lyrics…theres no empty ranting about how he wants more sex and alcohol or how the world sucks…Its uplifting, encouraging, and each verse really seems to be written with a heart that yearns to change the world for the better. he isn’t preachy…he is just trying to be honest. I preordered this CD, and I rarely do that. Dave is pretty mellow and chill, with a countryish/jazzy/bluesy influence…he is hard for me to categorize. Overall, I would recommend this CD to EVERYONE. Everything this guy does is downright amazing. I don’t know if I can pick a favorite song…Good World Gone Bad and Carry Me Through, probably. Followed closely by When A Heart Breaks…that song gives me shivers.

1) Guns N Roses-Chinese Democracy. Allyson had this on top of her list too, but even if she hadn’t I still would have posted it. This is honestly my favorite album, it was the one I was most excited for and I feel like, even if it didn’t match my expectations exactly, it was still a great thing to come this year. Sure, it disappointed sales-wise, but it was something fresh and new and entirely different, and maybe people just don’t know how to react to it. It certainly took me a couple listens before I really got into it.  Now the only downside was that prettymuch the entire CD was Axl complaining about the CD-making process. whatever. Overall, it is one of those albums you either love or hate, there isn’t middle ground. For me, the selling point was really that is is something completely unheard before…and I don’t think anyone but Axl Rose could have created that album. It pushed the envelope, it took a chance. And frankly, for me it was a success. Standout songs: Street of Dreams and This I Love.

 

Alright. All I got…I definitely encourage you to check out all of these CDs if you haven’t already.

 

So…what were our favorites?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2008 4:32 am

    I posted mine over at my blog, we agree that GNR and Tesla deserve to be on the list at least. Alice Cooper was my #1, but Hinder didn’t come in on my list at all. I just can’t get into their new one. Maybe over time it will sound less generic to me, but only time will tell. I am kind of surprised you don’t have Motley Crue on your list at all…did you forget about them??? 🙂

  2. December 29, 2008 10:23 am

    haha honestly I just didn’t like saints of LA at all…I will say it has gotten better, my initial reaction to it was a lot worse than it is now, but still not one of my favorites. I think the lyrics are cheesy and vince sounds awful

  3. holepuncher permalink
    December 29, 2008 10:05 pm

    Hard to argue with Chinese. I listened to it several times again while traveling over the holiday and it just refuses to get old to me. At the moment I think “Sorry” is my fave track, but that changes almost daily (a good sign).

    By the way, did you see all of the Axl postings on the GNR boards? Pretty interesting stuff.

  4. December 29, 2008 11:00 pm

    Yea I did read all that…I don’t really believe half of what he said, either lol…but it was interesting to be sure 🙂

  5. January 2, 2009 9:19 am

    I’m going to have to say AC/DC was my favorite for 2008. Saints of Los Angeles was another favorite, but I don’t know that it was one of the best for 2008. And I guess I’m in the minority as far as Chinese Democracy is concerned…I don’t like it. I can’t even listen to it anymore. I’m debating whether or not to give Hinder’s 2nd album a chance. My BFF swears it’s a great album and I’ll love it, but their 1st album was so terrible. And just like you said, I think they’re a bunch of idiots, so I don’t even know if they deserve a chance.

    Regardless, I hope you have a wonderful 2009!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

