Skip to content

Seb Hunter, Book Review-Part Two

December 16, 2008

playfood4

yea, that picture has nothing to do with anything, I just thought it was pretty cool. Find more amazing food art here: http://www.baekdal.com/design/art/dont-play-with-food/

Alright. On to our scheduled (code word for impromptu…like I ever plan this stuff out before I start talking) discussion of Seb Hunter, post-Hell Bent For Leather. In case you missed it, I talked a little about this book in my last post, which you can find here. On a whim, I decided to google Seb today and see what else is new. What comes up is his website, sebhunter.com.

Long story short, I’m bookmarking it. It had me laughing out loud, and I have to tell you…it is currently 1am and I am in no mood for laughing. I don’t even know why I’m up. But that is how funny it is.

some bits of news I found out:

  1. Seb has indeed grown his hair back since cutting it at the end of Hell Bent.
  2. He has a really cute baby now
  3. Apparently someone made a short film based on his book. Anyone up for a movie night? I kind of want to watch it!
  4. He has another book that I need to read now, it is called Rock Me Amadeus: When Ignorance Meets High Art, Things Get Messy and it came out last year.
  5. His most recent work is due out in April of 2009, and is called How To Be A Better Person. Watch for it!
  6. He has free music downloads on his website.

This last point is perhaps the most interesting to me, for perhaps obvious reasons…seeing how i just finished reading about all his old bands. These downloads are basically old demos. Considering how self-depreciating he was in the book, I was kind of surprised to find that these demos really don’t totally suck. The Cat Ballou ones I  liked, I really did. The Trash Can Junkie songs were suitably short and cute. They’re not bad…they just sound like a young band with amateur songs and a 40 second long guitar solo that was pretty…interesting. I guess. haha.That is meant in the nicest way possible. I probably could not play it better. 😉

Seb has a new band now, called Crater. I listened to three of their tracks too, and the ones on their myspace. They’re not glam. It’s cool, I understand. Their stuff is a little spacy and spooky, definitely experimental. It would be a perfect soundtrack to a movie about UFOs. Ok, I don’t really know how I feel about these. I feel like I need someone else to give me some direction in how I’m supposed to be interpreting this kind of thing. Although, when I think of improv I tend to think of theatrical…and this is definitely that.

Anyway, even if I don’t really “get” this Crater thing, this dude totally rocks.

Seb, I think you’ve got yourself a fan.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:16 am

    Did you see the deleted chapter? I liked this part:

    Me: Have you ever really put your arse on the line about an unknown band that you wanted to really champion, who then go on to fail spectacularly?
    Jerry: Oh fuck yes.
    Malcolm: All the time!
    (Jerry cackles uncontrollably.)
    Malcolm: You do tend to make ludicrous statements, yes. You do get carried away with it slightly.
    Jerry: Put it this way, you don’t get many journalists going back over their previous work, you know? There’s just too many embarrassing moments.
    (Jerry recounts his misplaced passion for American AOR band Danger, Danger.)

    Ha – I like the idea of “misplaced passion” and Danger Danger in the same sentence.

  2. December 16, 2008 1:07 pm

    hahah, it is true though…passion for Danger Danger probably is misplaced…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

