Skip to content

Tonight…You Rock!

December 8, 2008

I’ve been meaning to post this review for a while now…sorry its taken so long. Here is TONIGHT YOU ROCK! tyr-back-in-the-day

Tonight You Rock (TYR) is a glam band that came on the scene in the 1980’s, and recorded a bunch of material that was brought together in a CD called “All Comes Down To You.” Unfortunately, the material was shelved, and it was only this year that it was remastered and released. Now, I spend more money on CDs than anyone else I know, but I’m starting to run low so I had been planning to hold off on buying any more this year. However, it only took a couple listens to the tracks on myspace and the track Joel Valentine (frontman) sent me to know that this was definitely a CD worth shelling out a couple more bucks for.

As far as music goes, I’m really not that hard to please. I’m not one of those people who sits around analyzing every chord progression and listening for stupid little nit-picky stuff. I honestly don’t even know how to be a nit-pick, but I do know what I like. All I ask is that you give me something  I can rock out to, and this album delivers that. TYR is the epitomy of what a good ’80’s hair band should be. They’ve got a lot of energy to share, and every bit of the songs are well-done, from great hooks to sing-along choruses. The vocals are great, and Valentine definitely knows how to make his voice fit the song. There are guitar solos everywhere (who can complain about that?!) and everything just comes together really well. This is fun and exciting, feel-good music. Plus, the lyrics are great, from what I can understand.

I feel like I could go on and on saying things like this about every song, but I’ll spare you that. Just go listen to it, ok? I will say this-Are You Lonely is my favorite at the moment. I think everything about this song just rocks.

Consensus: This album is definitely being added to my list of favorites. I don’t think I have anything bad to say, at least not yet 😉 No, I think this will stay in my rotation for a good long time.

Its not really fair that some bands get their name celebrated all around the world, and other  bands, with just as much to offer, fade away. There really isn’t any rhyme or reason to it, but I’m really glad TYR has finally gotten the chance to release their material for us to enjoy, and hopefully make a new start.

Look forward to hearing more from you guys!!

TYR can be found on Myspace and their Official Site

To Purchase the CD click here

Last but not least, a video of a performance I scrounged up. Gotta love Youtube. Not the best quality, but pretty good as far as home videos and bootlegs go.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anthony Giordano permalink
    June 5, 2016 6:58 pm

    I’m sitting with Kevin in his living room reading your review of his , tyr, cd to him, he is pleased and “stoked” that you enjoy it , rock on !

Leave a Reply

