Skip to content

Band of the Day: Barbe-Q-Barbies

December 7, 2008

barbe-q-barbiesHere is my newest discovery, guys…and a welcome addition to the glam scene.

Meet the Barbe-Q-Barbies, an all-girl group from Finland. Despite their silly name, these ladies can rock with the best of ’em.

Y’know, I can only think of a handful of female rockers, and most of them quickly fade into obscurity after the novelty of “oh my gosh you’re a girl!” wears off. I think thats really a shame, honestly, because that means theres a lot of untapped talent lost out there somewhere. These girls are every bit as good as the guys I’ve heard coming out of Scandinavia, and dare I say it…better than a lot of ’em. They’re definitely on the right track, here.

And I also like that they’re proving that you can be a girl and you can be beautiful and smart AND play rock n roll, without having to make yourself out to be some nasty-looking slut. Just sayin’.

I know a lot  of people (including myself) are watching  Sweden and Scandinavia closely right now to see what the next big band to come out is going to be, and hoping that one of them will break over here. While you’re at it, I strongly encourage you to check out the Barbe-Q-Barbies…They’ve got some great-sounding demos on their myspace:

Link to their Myspace

I also found a youtube clip of them performing…

 

 

All I got. Let me know what you think!!

Rock ON!

One Comment leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    December 7, 2008 3:46 pm

    Nice find! Not sure about the band name, but maybe it translates to something cooler in Finnish…

Leave a Reply

