Skip to content

To Hell With The Devil!

December 3, 2008

So this past Sunday, I was home for thanksgiving, and my mom woke me up early to go to church. I’ll be honest, it was one of those mornings where i really just wanted to sleep in, but my mom apparently thinks I’ve sold my soul to the Devil since coming to college (I have no idea why she thinks this. I have done nothing of the sort. I just don’t agree with waking up for 8am services anymore, especially when there is another one at 11.) so she’s pretty adamant that I go to church with them. The sermon was kind of boring, but there was one thing that made it completely, 100% worth it.

This guy was scheduled to be baptized, so they had him come before the congregation and share how he became a Christian. He starts off “well, back in the ’80’s I was a really big metal fan…” and I hear myself groan. Whenever you hear someone who professes to be a born-again Christian say they WERE a heavy metal fan, but not anymore, 9 times out of 10 they have a CD-burning story for you. Could just be my church though, I admit it is much more conservative than most. I don’t fault them for this, I just don’t think that musical discernment is necessarily the same for everyone. Y’know, the main reason I’ve started to get really defensive around Christians just because they like to stereotype music so much, and it is mainly out of ignorance. For example, they might pick a song a song like “You’re all I Need” by Motley Crue and talk about how terrible it is for “encouraging” violence and murder blah blah…and I always want to raise my hand right there and ask them how anything in that song (or any Crue song, for that matter) is worse than Johnny Cash singing a line like “I shot a man in Reno just to watch him die.” Right. But I bet you still listen to Johnny Cash, right? Heavy Metal, though…oh my gosh, its so bad, you better destroy all of it.

I feel like I’ve used the Johnny Cash example in a post before…oh well. It’s my favorite.

Anyway, I digress. So this dude is up there talking about he was a hardcore metal fan…I’m sitting there, expecting the worst. BUT THEN he goes on to say, “…a friend of mine gave me a Stryper CD. I liked it, and I saw it had a Bible verse on the booklet.” long story short, this guy actually came to Christ because of a Stryper CD. At this point, I think I might have laughed out loud, simply because I think that is the most awesome testimony ever, yet so…unexpected. But I mean, if you must have a testimony, you might as well have a really, really cool one, such as deciding you want to be a Christian because some guys in honeybee suits put Bible verses in their booklet and played some cool riffs. Totally made my day, and yes, made it worth waking up early to go to a church service in the pouring rain.

Alright, so I admit, I used to have a Stryper CD somewhere. Who knows where it is now. Actually, they’re one of those bands I pay pretty much no attention to. They make good music but I’ve always thought the lead singer’s voice was sometimes a little…girlish. I know, he can’t help it…but Robert Plant can’t help that he sounds like a dying animal either, and I refuse to listen to him as well.

Just for fun, (and I know this is getting to be a long post so I’ll wrap it up real quick here) I went back and listened to some Stryper. It isn’t half as bad as I remembered, and that is the honest truth. Its a little Bon Jovi-ish, but that is ok. I must’ve had a bad CD or something. I’m actually feeling as if this might be something I’d pick up again. I’m going to have to make myself a playlist. So, thanks, random dude at church. I thought you were gonna tell me to burn my metal, but i ended up walking away with a new band. ROCK ON.

Check it out:

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2008 7:41 am

    That’s a great story. I don’t remember these Stryper songs – they must have come after their yellow and black heyday. I owned “To Hell With the Devil” and liked it as a kid. I’m not even sure I put two and two together that they were doing something unique within the scene, I probably just liked that they were on MTV and had catchy songs. Also, it’s hard not to like a band who figures “Well, if we call ourselves Stryper we might as well incorporate a bunch of stripes into our look.” Classic.

    But did you just admit to not liking Led Zeppelin????????????????

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    December 3, 2008 9:02 am

    haha yea. I think these songs were from a later CD, too. But they weren’t on the one I had, either.

    shhh don’t tell anyone I don’t listen to Zeppelin…no, actually, I have every Zeppelin record. my brother is a huge fan…I guess I just decided I wanted to listen to something different after a while.

    Plant seriously does sound like an animal, though. I have a good story about that too. 🙂

  3. December 4, 2008 1:57 pm

    count me as one christian and metal fan who does not stereotype music. it was a great story and i have to admit to never caring much for led zeppelin.

Leave a Reply

