Skip to content

Music Trivia Everyone Should Know:

December 2, 2008

I really like knowing random, useless facts. I actually love taking those stupid online trivia tests. I was taking one today on ’80’s hair metal, though…and I did surprisingly bad. Sure, I know who produced Def Leppard’s Hysteria. I know what band Bobby Dall is in. I know which lead singer has performed in at least three broadway musicals. I know Nikki Sixx’s Grandma’s name. I knew Lita Ford did a duet with Ozzy. Well, what else do I need to know???

Apparently a lot. I’ve found out I’m amazingly bad with lyrics…why the asker gives me a “finish this song” question, I cannot do it, ever. I can tell you the name of the song its from and the band who made it famous, but lyrics? cannot do it. I also know absolutely nothing about Warrant (and I’m perfectly fine with that), but the people who make those quizzes make Warrant every other question. Just to trip me up, I’m sure. and there weren’t nearly enough questions about bands I do know to make up for it.

But, just to redeem myself, I’ve compiled some music trivia that I know, and everybody should know.

  1. This is one of my favorites: Smells Like Teen Spirit is not the name of a Nirvana album!!!
  2. Speaking of, Cobain totally copied Boston’s “More than A Feeling” in that song. I think this is hilariously funny mainly because I never expected it. Go listen, seriously. Cobain himself admitted to it.
  3. Black and Blue is an album by the Rolling Stones. I refuse to recognize any similarly-titled albums by certain boy bands.
  4. Aerosmith: “Vince Neil looks like a lady, so lets write a song about it.” Yea, this one is old, but it is still endlessly funny…mostly because it is true. For that matter, Tommy and Nikki looked like Ladies too:tommy-and-nikki1Notice that Mick never had this problem.
  5. Another good Aerosmith one: they were the villains in the Sgt. Pepper movie, and its their cover of “Come Together” that is used in the soundtrack, not the Beatles’ original
  6. Glam rock and Glam Metal are not the same genre, actually. But feel free to argue with me on that.
  7. Sweden is the 3rd largest music exporter in the world, after the US and the UK. Once you get past ABBA and start compiling a list of all the swedish bands you know, that isn’t so surprising as it first seems.
  8. The Band “Ratt” was originally called “Mickey Ratt.” I guess it was shortened so as not to be confused with their mouse cousin.
  9. If you watch Whitesnake’s video for “Here I go Again” very closely, you can see a couple places where Tawny Kitaen’s already-revealing dress slips off her shoulder…scandalous. I learned this from Pop-up video. I think there’s also a part where she breaks her stiletto, but I could be wrong on that. Its been a long time since I’ve seen that show or the video. Another thing I’m fine with.
  10. Sebastian Bach is that old dude with the long hair who plays in Lane’s band on the Gilmore Girls…and people wonder why I watched that show…haha. Totally worth it.
  11. Tracii Guns is not the lead singer of LA Guns (or Guns N Roses, for that matter). It has come to my attention that some people are confused about this. And I guess its an understandable mistake.
  12. Buckcherry got their name from Chuck Berry…they switched the CH with the B, see?
  13. Cheap Trick’s Tom Petersson was the builder of the world’s very first 12-string bass. Why he thought that was a good idea, I don’t know. If I should meet him in Heaven one day, that will be the very first thing I ask
  14. Snake Sabo was a childhood friend and the original guitarist for Jon Bon Jovi. He was quickly replaced by Richie Sambora. However, when Snake formed his own band (you know, Skid Row…) Jon Bon Jovi helped them get a record deal.
  15. Dizzy Reed joined a college fraternity in 2006. He was 43 years old at the time. I don’t know why. I wonder if he’s still in it??

I guess thats enough.

Tell me–do you have any weird, random trivia you’ve been dying to share? I’d love to hear it!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    December 2, 2008 12:20 pm

    Why can I not think of Nikki’s grandmother now? That’s going to drive me crazy. I just read Heroin Diaries a couple months ago, too…No excuse.

    Q: Do you know the name of the guitarist who replaced C.C. in Poison?

    A: Richie Kotzen

    Q2: Do you know which band he joined after Poison?

    A2: Mr. Big

    (I had to look that last one up)

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    December 2, 2008 1:32 pm

    good one. Do you know the name of the guitarist BEFORE CC? 🙂

    Nikki Sixx also named a song after his grandma, you should know it from that, too lol. Its on Girls Girls Girls

  3. December 3, 2008 6:06 pm

    Matt Smith was Poison’s original guitarist, when the band was still called “Paris.”

    Slash tried out for Poison, but CC got the gig.

  4. r0ck0n permalink*
    December 3, 2008 6:08 pm

    haha impressive, JT!
    🙂

  5. holepuncher permalink
    December 4, 2008 9:04 am

    I knew about the Slash auditions but Matt Smith is a new name to me. That’s cool. Wonder what that guy is doing right now?

    And oh yeah, Nikki’s grandma’s name is Dancing on Glass. Of course!

    NONA. How could I forget NONA??? He’s out of his head without her…

  6. December 4, 2008 10:44 am

    If you’re interested, this is kind of fun…
    http://www.metalsludge.tv/home/index.php?option=cotm_content&task=view&id=818&Itemid=39

    lol. hard to say how that guy is doing…I bet thats a weird feeling, to think of what could have been…

  7. December 5, 2008 2:41 am

    According to Wikipedia:

    Matt Smith played on several early Poison demos, and was then replaced by guitarist C. C. DeVille. Matt Smith co-wrote several songs on Poison’s Look What the Cat Dragged In, although C.C. Deville was the guitarist on that album.

    Some of the more well known Poison demos he played on include “Rock Like A Rocker”, “Steal Away The Night” (not the Ozzy Osbourne song of the same name), “Razor’s Edge”, and “Talkin Loud”, none, however, were included on the first album.

    The band Hardline’s song ‘Face The Night’ from their second album ‘II’ is about Smith.

    Smith now resides in Linglestown,PA is married and has two children Steven and Katie.

Leave a Reply

