Skip to content

Weirdest Music Videos…ever.

December 1, 2008

The other day I posted a video by Hall & Oates. Its a great song, and that’s what I really wanted to share, but when I went back to watch the video, I couldn’t help but laugh. Compared to the videos we see today, this one looked like it was made by amateurs, or comedians, or worse. It shows the two of them sitting in armchairs, lip syncing unconvincingly, and when they get to the line “I’d pay the devil to replace her” they grab a handful of bills and throw it in the air as some poor guy in a devil suit walks in front of them. At the chorus, Oates does the worst air guitar ever. Wow.

It got me thinking, though…what are the worst Glam videos of all time? I mean, its glam…there has to be something at least as cheesy and silly as what i just watched.

1) I’m pretty sure the Darkness will take first spot. they’ve never done anything that didn’t make me think, “what the heck were they smoking when they came up with this??” of course, thats mostly why I love them. here you go…and this isn’t even their weirdest video. If you’re really bold, look up “Growing on Me.” its truly bizarre. the first 30 seconds of that video will tell you everything you need to know about this band.

2) The second video that comes to mind is Motley Crue’s video for Without You. Maybe its just me, but this video has always irritated me. Its like they got sober and suddenly decided to do some weird concept video that doesn’t make any sense. Why are they in Egypt? Why does a leopard appear when Tommy tries to pour a glass of water? Where did that orchestra made entirely of cellos come from? I don’t hear any cellos. The questions are endless.

3) David Lee Roth. Y’know, every band shoots videos of themselves performing, most of the time its a bunch of boring footage they somehow strung together to make it seem more interesting than it originally was. Not so with Van Halen, all thanks to Dave, who was truly a character in his own right. every time you see him, you have to ask yourself a) who picked out his outfit?? and b) Where in the world did he learn how to do that?? Anyway, that has nothing to do with the video I’m about to share, which frankly…speaks for itself. Midgets, roman soldiers, cowboys, some colonial guy who arrives in a limo…its got it all. One big, incoherent, yet intriquing mess.

4) November Rain. This might be an obvious addition to the list, but that doesn’t make it any less weird when you really stop to think about it. What happened to the girl? how did she die? How did that little empty chapel get transformed into a cathedral so quickly, yet remain unchanged on the outside? At the very beginning when Axl is popping pills, whats up with the headless statue on the nightstand? I love this video. I think this is one of the greatest songs ever, but that mystery has never been resolved for me. Hopefully it won’t haunt me for the rest of my life, or something.

I’m sure there are more if I wanted to search for them. But I don’t…I’d rather let someone else fill me in on the ones I’m missing. What do you think? Whats the weirdest glam video you’ve seen?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2008 10:15 am

    I would like to add Dokken’s Burning Like A Flame to this list. It could be the weirdest and the worst. 🙂

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    December 1, 2008 6:18 pm

    Yea, thats a good one! Now that I think about it, Dokken has a lot of stupid Videos. “In My Dreams” is probably my least favorite. And that one where the entire time they just play in front of mirrors. low-budget, much?

  3. holepuncher permalink
    December 2, 2008 12:13 pm

    This one’s pretty bad:

    It’s also pretty great. Weird how that works out so often with hair metal…

  4. r0ck0n permalink*
    December 2, 2008 2:46 pm

    yea, sometimes the cheesier is better, haha
    the thing that makes me laugh about that video is that they so obviously stereotyped the Indians…I mean, there are Cherokees in North Carolina where I live.there are no cactus or deserts here, though. Even when they were on the trail of tears, I doubt the Cherokee were riding horseback and living in Tee-pees. thats more of a western movie thing. But they’re swedish, I guess they didn’t know any better 🙂

  5. goneshiny permalink
    December 5, 2008 12:44 am

    in that same vein, ‘Looks That Kill’ always used to weird me out even back in the day.

    http://www.gonzogeek.com

Leave a Reply

