Skip to content

That Metal Show

November 30, 2008

So, last week on Bring Back Glam, there was a list of “glam thanks.” These are things that we can be thankful for in the world of glam metal. Here is a biggie I’d like to add to the list: Thank you for That Metal Show.

If you haven’t already heard, VH1 Classic debuted That Metal Show (from here on, TMS) just a couple weeks ago. Its brand new, and already rocks more than anything I’ve seen in years. I’m really excited about it. Eddie Trunk is the host, and he is well-equipped for the job. Basically, the premise seems to be that they chat with various recording artists, theres a live audience, they have a variety of silly games they play, news, performances, etc etc.

They had some pretty tough trivia on there too…dang. I got one of them right, but that was it…I knew that Samantha Maloney was the drummer on Lewd, Crued, and Tattooed. I gave myself a pat on the back.

So, right now on the show (yes I’m watching as I write this post), they’re doing some sort of a showdown between Rush fans and the KISS army. hmm. I really don’t think I’d want to argue with diehards from either party. There are a couple members of members of Twisted Sister on as well. Thats cool, Dee Snider has always been an interesting character, and I like interviews with him, he always comes across as being really smart and funny. Although, I suppose if you get an uninteresting guest on the show, the whole thing will get old real quick. Like last week when they had Yngwie…I’m not a big Yngwie fan anyway, but I though he was kind of boring.

Now, I heard a complaint that there “really isn’t anything metal about TMS” but honestly, whatever. Its just for fun…parts of it seem kind of stupid but I still laugh at them. Its cool to see a whole show dedicated to bands I like and music I like and that just doesn’t get enough attention (in my humble opinion).

The only complaint I really have is that there is a heavy focus on old-school metal, and not a lot of anything since the ’80’s. This is both a good thing and a bad thing. For what they got, though, they got the good stuff. I can’t help but wonder how far they can go with the current set-up, though. I suspect if it really catches on they’ll have to do some remodeling. I mean, they debated which band made the biggest contribution to the formation of Heavy Metal: Zeppelin or Sabbath…in the second episode. So now that they’ve done that, they’ve basically covered the central question to all things metal. Now where do you go from that?? Its like they’re just using up the “easy” and obvious conversation pieces in the beginning…but soon, they’re going to have to get more creative.

Well, actually, I have a second complaint, too. 30 minutes just isn’t long enough.

Check it out! Every Saturday at 11!

Rock ON!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

