Skip to content

Forgotten Band: Blackjack

November 29, 2008

Just when you thought the only thing he could do was covers of Procol Harem and Marvin Gaye, I am here to remind you…once upon a time, Michael Bolton could rock out with the best of them. Its true, he was a member of a long-haired rock band called Blackjack, also featuring (interestingly enough) Bruce Kulick, who went on to join KISS.

I’m going to resist making a snide comment about this picture. I feel like there is a lot of good comic material here.

Anyway, this band, Blackjack, released two CD’s in the late ’70’s, and actually got off the ground enough to tour with Ozzy. I came across Blackjack a couple months ago and promptly forgot about them again, until today they strangely popped back into my mind. I don’t know if this was/is a well-known band and I’ve just been living in oblivion, but considering that they only lasted a few years and all the members went on to do other, more prolific things, I somehow doubt that I’m the only one who didn’t know about them until recently.

Although, they were sampled by Kanye West so I guess they can’t be that overlooked. Just by me, apparently.

I thought it might be fun to see what I could scrounge up to listen to, and luckily, there is plenty on youtube. So, they’re not too bad. Actually, they’re pretty ok. I’m probably going to have to try them again in the morning though, there is a good possibility I’m dreaming right now so I know I’m not giving this listen my full attention.

here is an old promo video I found:

This is so funny to me…them speaking from 1979, imagining how every individual member of the band had superstar potential…little did they know, they would find lasting fame not as a band, but as individual superstars. I like the first song, mainly because of the vocals. Michael Bolton has a great voice, that is undeniable. I feel like I’ve heard this song before, actually. The second song was good too, but ironically enough, the reason I didn’t like it was because of the vocals. I think it was because when it started off, something about it immediately reminded me of Cheap Trick. So the entire time i wanted Robin Zander to be singing instead of Michael Bolton. Maybe I’m thinking of something else, though…I’m really tired…

One more song from them, then I’m going to sleep:

Just wanted to share that! I thought it was interesting.

R0ck ON!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

