Skip to content

Jenn’s Non-Glam Top 10

November 26, 2008

Sometimes I think I pigeonholed myself by naming my blog “Glam It Up.” sure, I talk a lot about glam metal and artists associated with that genre, but I listen to a lot of other things too, always have, and occasionally I’ll want to write about one of them. Usually I try to confine my topics to those immediately pertaining to this blog…If I want to go into a long-winded rant on the origins of Jazz, I’ll go somewhere else.

But today I was piddling around it my room, and I decided to see if I had anything interesting to listen to that I’d forgotten about. Which I did. I have two drawers in my dresser full of CDs, half of them I didn’t even know I have or where they came from. But it was fun because I got to listen to some stuff I hadn’t heard in a long time, and remember how good they were. It made me remember how many great artists are out there that I prettymuch ignore. I can’t talk about everything all the time…but maybe once in a while I could put in a shout-out to all those artists whose music I genuinely enjoy, and yet never mention.

So here we go:

1) George Michael. Sometimes George Michael reminds me of being a one-man boy band, but for some reason I’m ok with that. Faith is one of my favorite CDs, handsdown.

2) Jeff Buckley. I really could talk about Jeff Buckley more. One of the best…Died too soon.

3) Sammy Davis Jr. This man is one of my very favorites, hands down. If you don’t to any other clip on my page, you should listen to this one. I really, really love his version of “My Way.” possibly in my top-10 favorite songs, as well.

4) Michael Jackson. everyone who knows me knows I’ve been a fan of MJ for years. I don’t want to argue about his personal life, but I think his music speaks for itself. Dangerous is my favorite album from him.

I know this video isn’t from his solo career, but the amount of talent he showed at such a young age always captivates me. This is one of my favorite clips of him performing. I’ve had it bookmarked for years and every once in a while I like to go back and watch it.

5) Hall & Oates. It surprises me sometimes that these guys are unfamiliar to so many people my age. Trust me though, you may not remember their names, but you do know their songs.

6) Janet Jackson. Actually, I only like Rhythm Nation 1814…after that she just got too trashy and wasn’t fun anymore. But since RN1814 was at one point in my life the only thing I listened to, I feel like the youngest Jackson can be added to the list.

7) Toby Keith. Actually, it’s funny because one friend of mine said something the other day about how I’m weird for being a “southern girl who doesn’t listen to country.” no, sorry. About half my CD collection is Country music and that is no exaggeration. Toby Keith isn’t the best of them and I know that, but I remember seeing one of his videos in middle school and just really diggin’ it and then I ended up buying a couple of his CDs. He has some good songs. I guess I like him because he strikes me as being a lot closer to the old-school outlaw country than this pop-country that is on the radio right now. I always liked the more aggressive, growling, get-down kind of country music…which is probably not that different from listening to metal. And it tells a story, which is more than a lot of songs can say…

8 ) Tears for Fears. I heard one of their songs on the radio the other day and got really excited. This band never fails to make my day.

9) TLC. My roommate for the last two years used to make fun of me sometimes because I would sing along (loudly) to “Shock That Monkey” while cleaning. I really have no further comment on this.

10) Culture Club. Boy George may be weird…but the dude can sing and he’s got some good songs. Don’t even try to deny, you secretly love them too.

so many good songs! I might have to come back for a part 2. Rock onnn!!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 1:28 am

    That is a pretty wide selection you have there. 🙂

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 28, 2008 2:02 am

    yeah. I think somewhere in my past I made up my mind that music was something I wanted to really “know”, and I was always unconsciously afraid that someone would catch me with something I didn’t know (heaven forbid). so I decided to try out a little of everything.

    maybe not the best reason to listen to music,lol, but at least now I can appreciate a lot of different stuff and I never need to feel confined 🙂

  3. November 28, 2008 5:38 am

    I can deal with all of those except Tears for Fears. For some reason, I hate their music.

    I agree with your assessment of Toby Keith…closer to the old-style country, which I love. Waylon is one of my favorite artists of all-time, and I love me some Merle Haggard too.

    I’ve never understood the fascination with Jeff Buckley. With a college radio background, I remember playing Buckley years ago. And a lot of people I know really dig his music, but I just can’t get into it. But, as I said, I can tolerate it.

  4. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 29, 2008 2:47 am

    I don’t understand the Jeff Buckley fascination either. Considering he only released one album in his lifetime (although it was a good one), he probably gets more credit than he deserves, sometimes…even from me. But I love him anyway. I think he could have grown into something truly great, had he lived long enough. He had the voice and he had a style that was unique and interesting, which is more than many artists can say.

Leave a Reply

