Skip to content

Christmas Music!

November 25, 2008

Its almost Thansgiving-so I guess this weekend the holiday tunes will finally hit the airwaves. I know some people can’t wait for this, but I have never been a big fan of Christmas music. I’m really not. I like the traditional Christmas hymns, but 50 versions of Jingle Bell Rock just about kill me. I never listen to the radio during Christmas time. They play the same 3 Christmas songs over, and over, and over. And one of those  songs is always the one about the Christmas Shoes and the little boy whose momma is dying and he wants her to have some nice shoes in case she “goes to meet Jesus tonight.”

I know that song is supposed to be nice and sweet or whatever, but i groan everytime it comes on.

So, I just never listen to Christmas Music, unless it comes from one of these three albums:

  • The Chipmunks
  • Amy Grant Christmas
  • Kenny Rogers Christmas

I know this just shows how nerdy I am. Forgive me, thanks.

so you know what I think of all the 500 new Christmas albums I see are coming out this year? How about “We wish you a Metal Christmas” thats been advertised so heavily? etc etc etc? I think they’re stupid. There aren’t any original songs on them. Theres really nothing Christmas-y about them…I guess its just another chance to have a big jam-fest and make a couple bucks. I don’t really understand why a band would want to regurgitate a song that has been done 100 times already, just so they can stamp their name on it and add it to the list. I would much rather they use that studio time and energy to make an original record.

Just my thoughts.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2008 5:36 am

    I loaded up a Christmas playlist for my family to listen to last night. It has the Rat Pack (Sinatra, Davis, etc.), Gary Hoey, the Smurfs, and a few other odds and ends. I saved the playlist to my desktop and now we can open that and listen to it on shuffle anytime.

    I would highly recommend Gary Hoey’s Xmas music. Do a search for it on YouTube and check it out. He is one of the most underrated rock guitarists ever.

  2. Katherine permalink
    December 1, 2008 12:13 am

    Yeah, that Christmas shoes song kills me. I change the channel if it comes on. Also, my favorite (secular) Christmas songs are almost never played: “I Want a Hippopotamus for Christmas” and the Snoopy & the Red Baron Christmas song. Amy Grant’s Christmas CD is nice, though!

    I yelled at my radio last week when my alarm went off and there was Christmas music on the air. That should never happen before Thanksgiving!!

  3. r0ck0n permalink*
    December 1, 2008 12:21 am

    Oh good the Hippopotamus song is available for download on ruckus. Things are looking up.

    yea…guess what…I’m in charge of making the play list for a Christmas party tomorrow. Its a little heavy on the Amy Grant right now, because that is all I have. Oh, and I almost put a Bon Jovi song called “Silent Night” on it before i realized that isn’t actually a Christmas song…close one. But anyway, I’ll probably be stealing those songs/albums you mentioned to stick on there 🙂 thanks for your comments, guys!!

Leave a Reply

