Skip to content

Festival Time!

November 24, 2008

You know what always makes me a little irritated?? When I come up with something good to write about and then I notice that every other blogger on the planet has already written about it today. I guess we really are all on the same train of thought.

Anyway, as reported by Sleaze Roxx this morning, Sweden Rock Festival has announced part of the lineup for 2009. They actually posted this a long time ago  (ok, 2 days ago) but the sleaze rockers have just now noticed, I guess. Except me of course. I’ve been stalking that website for a month waiting for them to post info. Line up looks ok. They have Europe, Foreigner, Uriah Heep, Motorhead…a couple other big names. Of course, there are also some pretty awesome Swedish bands on the list too…Torch and Bullet being the two that stand out to me. And then theres an eclectic mix of prog, thrash, and some other stuff I don’t really care about.

the reason I’ve been watching this is because I’ve been anxiously looking into some European festivals to go to next summer, as I’ll be studying abroad in Poland (and its a heck of a lot easier to get to Sweden from Poland than to get to Sweden from America).

I’m really holding out for some Hardcore Superstar, Heat, Gemini Five (although that isn’t looking promising since their guitarist quit, unless Martin Sweet joins the band), Sebastian Bach, and Def Leppard. How awesome would it be to hit half my favorite bands in one go??

As of right now, the lineup isn’t convincing me. However, if the final list is anything like it was last year, what with Airbourne, Poison, Ratt, Tesla, the Poodles (shut up, I like them), Judas Priest, Whitesnake…thats a lineup hard to say no to.

We’ll seeeeee…..anyone know of any other festivals I should look into? I’ve also thought about Download and that one in Denmark.

Random Video of the day:

Yeaaa…Guns N Roses. So sue me. And I can’t help it, but when I watch this video I feel really bad for Steven…I hope he one day gets his life together…

r0ck ON!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2008 9:09 pm

    “Rocket Queen” is a great song…probably my favorite non-single from Appetite.

    As for the festivals, I’m not a festival person. Sure, if a good one came around here I would probably go, but I’m not going to fly to Oklahoma or Texas or wherever for it. I prefer the 2 or 3 band concerts, especially now that I’m old and decrepit. LOL.

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 25, 2008 12:07 am

    yea, festivals are a significant sum of money once you add up all the travel/hotel/etc etc. So it isn’t worth it to me unless there are several good bands that I’m dying to see. I really want to experience a festival one day because it sounds to me like a lot of fun. I just thought that since I’ve got a fair bit of money set aside for travel this summer anyway, I might try to work in a festival somewhere 🙂

    Rocket Queen totally rocks. Sometimes the non-singles don’t get nearly enough recognition.

Leave a Reply

