Skip to content

More Chinese Democracy

November 21, 2008

Sorry, I’m totally spazzing out over this album. So here we go again…Jennifer’s thoughts, round two three four.

Actually, no, I don’t apologize. I’m not sorry for writing 4 posts in a row on one CD. Its my blog-I do what I want.

What now, you ask? Well, I don’t know. Just a bunch of random thoughts, really. The album is so much better today than it was yesterday. Seriously, the second round of listening is really improved from the first. I’m wondering if the problem the first time was indeed bad playback. My computer’s speakers are a little touch-and-go…sometimes they work, sometimes they don’t. Anyway, it is a lot easier to listen to and it doesn’t seem so shocking or overwhelming, and I’m starting to pick up on some of the finer points in the song. And there are a lot of songs I didn’t like the first time that I really like a lot better now, and the overproduction and special effects (while I probably wouldn’t miss them if they were gone) don’t distract me so much anymore. Instead, I can laugh at my realization that Axl sounds like a robot in almost every track. Does it live up to expectations? no, but its ok. This album is still better than most anything else that has come out this year.

I see the imperfections more, too…like, what the heck did he spend $15 million on??? 500 versions of protools? Its seriously ironic to think that, even after all this money, all this time, all the mastering and remastering and editing and adding things and taking them away, etc etc…all that really matters is the song underneath it all. This dude had the best musicians in the business, more talent in one room than most people see in a lifetime, and he goes and covers it all up with stupid electronic effects. Axl, honey…all you needed was the music. Speaking of, I’m a big fan of really raw recordings…CDs that are made on a budget so small an ant could lift it. Those records have so much more character (for lack of a better way to describe it). Chinese Democracy just seems so…plastic. Impersonal, maybe? I enjoy listening to it, but, it sounded like a robot.

I also read some other reviews today…interesting. I posted the one from Chuck Klosterman…like everything that guy does, its a great review. He definitely has a unique way of approaching things.

Hinder, however…I can’t even believe that band dared to talk bad about anything Axl Rose did…let alone one of the most anticipated albums of all time, and talk about it to the press! sheesh. So, they obviously had not heard the record at the time of the interview…lol, but they talked about it like they had such authority. Saying that “the songs just aren’t there” and that Axl was trying to replicate Slash on guitars etc etc…you can tell me if I’m wrong, BTW–but these guitars didn’t sound anything like Slash to me. meh. Yea, Hinder has some good songs and I don’t hate their music at all, but they’re never going to be peers to Axl and Axl’s songs. sorry. they’re not.

One last thing. I also read something about a “competition” between Axl and Kanye West about whose album would sell more copies this week, since they both have new material coming out at the same time. Frankly, I think this is stupid. 1st of all, Kanye is the biggest douche on the planet so that alone is enough reason for me to hope Axl outdoes him a thousand times over. But really, who cares? I would like to see Chinese Democracy come out with a bang-parades, streamers, balloons, the whole nine yards-but if Kanye beats him, it won’t mean Chinese Democracy is the worse record of the two. It just means that Kanye happens to have half of America tied to his pinkie at the moment, so he is the more relevant-seeming artist to the majority of casual music-buyers. These two albums aren’t even playing in the same field, there is no reason for anyone to be putting them up against each other.

I also haven’t heard Sebastian Bach’s voice on any track…which is kind of a bummer. You can say what you want about Baz but you can’t deny his voice is one of the best things to happen to rock n roll…and if I were AI would’ve milked it for everything its got. but then again, I’m not Axl.

Ok, I think thats all I got…I just have to spit out my thoughts somewhere so they don’t distract me from writing my paper anymore. I really want to sit down and debate this album with someone, but no one I know will even talk to me about it, lol.

I don’t blame them.

I’m going to listen to some Crue now. Too Fast For Love, my favorite album ever, is still my favorite album.

~Jennifer

3 Comments leave one →
  1. kashfia permalink
    November 22, 2008 11:10 am

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re blogs’ awesome………. thank u so much for encouragin me… and im totally hooked to ur rock blog.

  2. November 22, 2008 4:03 pm

    I’ve listened to the album probably 20-25 times so far. I’m going to post a review sometime next week on my blog, but my initial thoughts are…wow. A lot better than I expected it to be. A lot better than the demos that were leaked. A lot better than people will ever give it credit for being. There are a few “huh?” moments, but overall a very strong album and one of the best of 2008.

  3. November 22, 2008 6:00 pm

    Hey thanks for posting on my blog. It’s funny to me how connected things can be through the most obscure means.

    Anyway, looking forward to hearing the album. Early Christmas gift to myself!

Leave a Reply

