Skip to content

Chinese Democracy-Chuck Klosterman’s Review

November 21, 2008

So, last night as I wrote my review of Chinese Democracy, it really struck me how ill-prepared I really am to take on such a task. I feel like I oversimplified things, made generalizations, etc etc…when really, you could write a whole book on this album and what it is supposed to be…dissecting it bit by bit, analyzing everything…and you’d still never really get to the bottom of what Axl wanted to communicate. I’m really just not capable of doing Chinese Democracy justice.

Luckily, there are some people out there who are better music critics and writers than me. Chuck Klosterman is one of them. I’ve read his books, and frankly, I am in love with that man. I truly think he is one of the most consistently brilliant, insightful people I’ve ever come across. So, I’m really glad he wrote a review of Chinese Democracy as well…he says things that I wanted to say but couldn’t articulate, and has a lot of really great thoughts that I wish I could have been the one to think of. Some people don’t buy his argument, and thats cool…but I like it. Overall, great review. Even if you don’t agree, at least it makes you think.

His last paragraph really hit home for me:

“I’ve maintained a decent living by making easy jokes about Axl Rose for the past 10 years, but what’s the final truth? The final truth is this: He makes the best songs. They sound the way I want songs to sound. A few of them seem idiotic at the beginning, but I love the way they end. Axl Rose put so much time and effort into proving that he was super-talented that the rest of humanity forgot he always had been. And that will hurt him. This record may tank commercially. Some people will slaughter Chinese Democracy, and for all the reasons you expect. But he did a good thing here.”

Couldn’t agree more. Thanks, Chuck.

(read Klosterman’s entire review here)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2008 3:58 pm

    Couldn’t agree with you more…Klosterman is brilliant.

  2. Tony permalink
    December 5, 2008 1:55 am

    Well the problem lies more in the name, Guns N’Rosses as a name this album is him this is only using a name that is know to get money… and IMO the most songs on it arent even rock… more kinda popish…

  3. December 5, 2008 2:30 am

    I’ll be honest…if I hear one more thing about the name I am going to scream and pull my hair out. I really think that should be the very least of anyone’s concerns.

    Axl owns the rights to the name, he can do whatever he wants with it. Besides, for him, I doubt GNR ever stopped being. Sure, all his band mates (save Dizzy) left, but for him that didn’t change the fact that Guns n Roses existed. Some bands, like London, have had a revolving door of members ever since they were first formed. They didn’t change the name with each reincarnation. New members joined London, old members left London. I don’t think there is ever a point in the history of GNR where you can point your finger and say “this is when GNR stopped being GNR.” was it when Adler was kicked out? Was it when Sorum joined? or was it when Izzy left? or when Duff and Slash left? I can’t really answer that. All I know is that things change. You can’t hinge so much meaning on a name.

    And I don’t think it has anything to do with money. If that was what he was interested in, he would have made sure he was reachable to do publicity, right? rather than running and hiding somewhere.

Leave a Reply

