Skip to content

Glam For When You’re Alone

November 13, 2008

My college campus is one of those places where there are always people out and about-setting up badminton on the quad, hangin’ out in front of the dorms with guitars for impromtu jam sessions, random speakers standing around trying to promote their views on animal rights/abortion/God/the economy/etc etc. There is almost always something to watch or someone to hang out with. Unfortunately today it is raining, exams are coming up quickly, and I think there is a bit of a damper on everyones’ spirits right now. Basically, the energetic, forceful, party-hard, “Pour Some Sugar on Me” breed of glam just isn’t fitting the mood today. So, what do you listen to at times like this? Ballads, it seems.

I took the title of the post from a great CD collection I have called Jazz When You’re Alone. Its basically what you would expect; a mix of songs that are generally quieter, relaxing, and just easy to listen to. I love my jazz, but I thought it would be fun to make a glam version. here are a few songs that are hitting the spot right now:

1) Crashdiet-Falling Rain

Totally appropriate, if only for the title. Its actually about a prostitution and the emotional hurt and pain that comes with it. I find it to be a really powerful song. And really sad. It makes you want to reach out to those girls, y’know? I don’t really know how to help but I wish I could…

2) Poison-Every Rose Has Its’ Thorn

I hate that I’m putting this one on the list just because it gets played so often anyway…and I’d rather bring attention to a lesser-known song…but this one fits so well I can’t resist.

3) Motley Crue-Driftaway

Such a great song. This album didn’t get half the acclaim it deserved, which is a shame. John Corabi was excellent. Always makes me laugh when other Motley fans complain about Vince skipping half the notes. Really, you had JOHN CORABI and wouldn’t take him! so you get what you get.

4) Alice Cooper-I Never Cry

I’ve said before that I’m not a huge Alice fan (mainly because I don’t care much for his fascination with killing people in really disturbing ways), but I can’t deny it–this guy knows how to write a song. This one is a masterpiece and I could listen to it all day. I HAVE been listening to it all day. The lyrics are spectacular–“Its just a heartache that got caught in my eye…and y’know, I never cry…” I really love that line.

5) Tryin’ to decide if I should put some Sebastian Bach solo work or some Skid Row. If it was Bas solo, I would pick “By Your Side” off his most recent album, Angel Down (great stuff), but if its Skid Row, I gotta go with Breakin’ Down.

Bonus) Fuel-Bad Day.

Not Glam, but as one of the commenters on the video said…this song sounds like a bad day sounds. So I thought it appropriate to add to the list.

Runners Up: LA Guns-Battle of Jayne, Gemini Five-Chemicals Between Us (no video for this one), Great White-Angel Song, Sixx AM-Accidents can Happen, Scorpions-Still Lovin’ You and Send Me an Angel, GNR-Don’t Cry, and a lot of Cinderella ballads. Gosh I keep finding more and more songs but I can’t possibly add them all…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

no, I’m not having a bad day, persay…just a little mopey cuz of the weather.

Also notice…I made a concious effort not to put November Rain on the list 😉 haha. that one was too obvious.

Rock ON y’all!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2008 8:57 pm

    Crashdiet – perfect choice. Close runner-up would be “It’s a Miracle.”

    Poison – duh. No-brainer there.

    Crue – I agree that album is way underrated. No, it’s not Vince-style Crue, but it’s still great hard rock music. Would have been more accepted had they released it under a different band name in my opinion. Also check out “Misunderstood.”

    Alice Cooper – OK, but I’m not particularly crazy about that song. I would prefer “Killed By Love” or “Salvation” from the new disc.

    Sebastian Bach/Skid Row – I would pick “I Remember You,” closely followed with “By Your Side.” Bas has the greatest voice in history when he uses it properly.

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 13, 2008 9:13 pm

    Yea, Its a miracle was a close runner up for me too.

    lol maybe I really do need to go find the new disc. I don’t think I’ve heard Killed by Love (or maybe I just forgot). I have heard Salvation. Frankly, I was a little weirded out by that song. I know Alice is a Christian now and I don’t want to criticize him for that, and I know he wants to express his beliefs. But it is really strange to me that he would put a song like that in a record about a psycho cutting off women’s legs to make a spider. Maybe it fits somehow and will make more sense when I actually hear all the songs in the order they’re supposed to be in…was the spider saved by Christ’s blood?

    I agree about Bach. The man can out-sing almost anyone.He was a hard one to choose just one song from…

  3. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 13, 2008 9:16 pm

    oh and you’re probably right about using a different band name for the Motley Crue album. Its a good effort, but it doesn’t sound like what we expect Motley to sound like…which is why it tripped so many people up.

  4. November 14, 2008 8:48 am

    “Salvation” fits in with the story on the disc. I don’t really think it’s salvation from sins that he is singing about, but salvation from the life of a serial killer. Seriously, the disc is awesome, and I’m not a big fan of Alice or concept albums in general.

  5. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 14, 2008 9:19 am

    Someone died for me, Washed in blood he cared enough to pity me. In my heart, In my soul, Something’s new, that’s very old
    Like a pain that’s finally gone, I feel my heavy burden lifted

    lol sounds a lot like what they taught me back in Sunday school 😛 maybe he meant it to go either way. To me, all the christian references just seemed to jump out

Leave a Reply

