Skip to content

Time for Glam

November 12, 2008

sorry about the foray into Michael Jackson territory on that last post. I know, it was weird of me to do that. I have to admit though, I love MJ and I follow him pretty closely (as you see), but I don’t really want to write about him. Enough of that.

Back to business…the hardest thing about keeping a blog sometimes is knowing what to write about. Its easy when you’ve got a certain agenda or something you’re working toward…but I’m just doing this for fun. There isn’t really a reason or purpose other than that. I have a couple new bands I would like to review in the future, but right now…I think I just want to chill out and not think about anything. I don’t really want to disect anything unfamiliar…I want something I already know I like and that will be fun to listen to on a quiet, otherwise uneventful evening.

Whats that, you ask? Babylon Bombs. They’ve been around since 2005, they’ve got two great CDs out, and if I’m I’m correct, another one on the way. Lately, they’ve been dominating my play list, and for good reason. Some of their songs have a nasty edge to them, the singer sounds like he’s sneering when he sings. Still, they’re a fun band I think, and they’ve got some catchy, exciting songs. Some, like Hometown Hero (which I think I shared sometime in the last week so I won’t post it again) is almost a pop song, and guaranteed to get you moving and singing along…I understand why it gets a lot of playing time in European clubs. As far as I can remember I’ve never heard it here, but I think it would do really, really well in the US. Although, heaven forbid they get any popularity here…someone would probably accuse them of going mainstream and crossing over. As if popularity is a bad thing. I digress. So, Babylon Bombs. A little sleazy, but a lot of fun. Definitely a second-wave glam band worth checking out.

I’m really peeved they don’t have many songs up on youtube…boo. There IS a video of them drunkenly singing Poison’s Fallen Angel, which is quite funny, but I won’t recommend that one to you. I wanted to share “Slip Away.” That’s my favorite. Oh well, check it out at their MYSPACE. Their new single is up, too…its good.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

OH AND DON’T FORGET…IF YOU’RE INTERESTED IN WINNING A COPY OF THE HEROIN DIARIES BY NIKKI SIXX, THE DEADLINE FOR ENTERING IS THIS FRIDAY! SO MAKE SURE YOU DON’T MISS YOUR OPPORTUNITY. READ MORE INFO ABOUT IT HERE.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Rock ON!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 8:35 pm

    I’ve got “Doin’ You Nasty” and it has some pretty cool songs on it, my favorite probably being “Let It Loose.” Another lesser-known band is Hell N’ Diesel. If you haven’t heard them yet you should check them out.

  2. r0ck0n permalink*
    November 13, 2008 12:35 am

    I do know Hell N’ Diesel! I think I’m Myspace friends with them haha. Myspace is how I keep up with everything…I’m glad someone other than me knows swedish sleaze though! Sometimes I feel like I’m the only person in the world who listens to this stuff.

  3. November 13, 2008 6:36 pm

    I try to play some new stuff on my radio show along with the classics, so Babylon Bombs, HND, and Crashdiet are must-haves. I do a 2-hour hard rock show on http://www.classxradio.com every Saturday night, 9-11 pm eastern. Look at my old playlists on the blog at http://hardrocknights.wordpress.com and you’ll see what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

