Skip to content

Meet The Heroine

November 10, 2008

Here we have the last finalist to review in the Make Rock History contest. Tonight, all 6 will come together at the infamous Whiskey A Go-Go in Hollywood for the chance to play in front of Motley Crue members Vince, Tommy, Nikki and Mick for the chance to win a record deal, new equipment, and a spot on Motley’s Cruefest tour 2009.

This band seems to be solid, so most of my inhibitions are mostly opinion-based.  My niche is in silly 80’s glam/hair metal. loud, melodic, nonthreatening, and mostly superficial, but totally awesome for all those reasons. I listen to Bon Jovi and Poison out of my own free will. I like that CC Deville plays a pink guitar and I like the mullets. So when you give me a band like The Heroine that screams instead of sings, sometimes I really don’t know where to go with it. I can’t sing along to this! Honestly, it sounds like a noisy mess to me. As if the lead singer’s voice isn’t harsh and distorted enough, they actually seem to use some sort of special effect to further garble it in some songs. Hey, some people like it. My brother probably listens to it.  I’m not sure I can give it a fair review, though.

Basically, In my opinion, the songs sound good until the vocalist comes in. They have a nice guitar part and whatnot, but somehow once the vocals are added the song just loses balance. It may be bad production, I’m not really sure. But I don’t think I want to listen to it until the tone it down.

I don’t know. I’m tired of this competition now anyway. I’m ready to see who wins! and I’m really wishing I was in Hollywood right now so I could go in person. I think I know who I want to win, Do you?

This competition has been really interesting to me in that it gives me a chance to meet a couple new bands that are out there, and several of which I fully expect to hear more of in the future, which is exciting. I’ve enjoyed reading your comments and seeing which bands you like and why. Overall, a good experience, but I’m ready to get back to the silly hair metal. So,I leave you with this…some fun Swedes for your monday 🙂

Babylon Bombs…amazing, right?? This is more my thing. so, happy rockin’!

And don’t forget to enter yourself in the contest to win a free copy of the Heroin Diaries Book and/or CD by Nikki Sixx and Sixx: A.M.! For more info, see here.

Rock on, y’all!

Leave a Reply

