Skip to content

Meet the Dirty Pearls

November 4, 2008

Alright, so today I’m going to write a fun synopsis of the Dirty Pearls. This is another finalist for Make Rock History. But first, an important announcement in case you’re living under a rock:

Yea, that’s as political as I am going to get. I know this is a bad attitude, but I’m really sick of hearing about the election, and frankly I don’t really like anyone who is running right now. I’ve resorted to ridiculing all of them, not so much because they deserve it as it’s because I’ve given up on ever making sense of any of this political stuff, and being nasty about it just helps me cope with my own insufficiency. So, Guns N Roses wins it for me. I KNOW that I’m going to get at least something from them…whether it be a CD or a soft drink. For McCain and Obama I don’t even have that security. Speaking of, Don’t forget your Free Dr. Pepper from the Dr. Pepper website, in commemoration of the CD release. I have an update on that, by the way…You can only request a coupon from the website on November 23rd. If you come on the 22nd or the 24th, it won’t be there. And the coupon expires in February. So don’t miss your free Dr. Pepper!

Annnnyway. That was more than you ever needed to know about my political views, and if it makes me look bad, whatever. I’m not apathetic, just confused. Which is why I talk about music, not presidential elections.

Moving on to the Dirty Pearls. I really like their band name, by the way. I keep thinking of all the profound (or not) meanings you could squeeze out of it. Band names really are important…unless you’re steel panther/metal skool and like to change your name every year. At least the Dirty Pearls have something totally rock n roll, totally worth keeping.

The Dirty Pearls actually have a review in the September issue of Classic Rock Magazine. I’m looking at it right now, its on Page 75 in the Sleaze Roundup section, in case you want to follow along or something. “Every so often you stumble upon an outfit like NYC’s Dirty Pearls, a decadent swirl of afros, crushed velvet and vintage vinyl that operates on all cylinders, cranking out glimmery top-shelf sleaze with class, taste warmth, and distinction, and you suddenly realize that there’s a yawning chasm between merely good and great.” 8 out of 10 stars, which is pretty darn high for ANY band in Classic Rock Mag, which seldom seems to rate any higher than that.

As for the description, yea…I see it. At first I was a little critical, as “sleaze” and “class” don’t usually get put in sentences together. But in this case, both words are good descriptions, somehow. They truly are both sleazy and classy, at the same time. Ps, I’m totally lovin’ the afros. Got the look? check.

Musically, this band is RIGHT ON. There’s definitely a ’70’s feel to it. If you like Zep, Steppenwolf, Rolling Stones, Deep Purple, Aerosmith…or even if you don’t…I think you’ll find a home with this band. There were even times when I thought I heard a little Jim Morrison or a little New York Dolls…but they wrap it all up so nicely. I expect great things from this band. they’ve got a definite attitude, growl, sneer…whatever you want to call it. And great music. clean, professional, etc etc. I really don’t know what to say, except for out of the three bands I’ve reviewed so far…this is the one I like the most, BY FAR. Every song was amazing. I think Rockstarlivin’, Hollywood la la la, and Don’t Blame My Rock N Roll might be my favorites, though, if I had to pick.

here, check it out:

I really wish that was a better quality recording. I’m listening to the CD version and its so much easier to listen to…but this at least gives you an idea of what this band is about. If you want another listen, perhaps check them out at their Myspace.

ROCK ON!

Don’t forget to subscribe to our RSS for future updates! Tomorrow I’ll tell you about some free givaways and things I got that I think you’ll really like (I’m super excited, haha), so you don’t wanna miss it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rockchick permalink
    November 4, 2008 5:42 pm

    I checked out all the bands in the Motley Crue contest too and to be honest, The Dirty Pearls are the best. They have a cool real rock n roll look and catch songs and a great band name, as you mentioned as well. I predict The Dirty Pearls as the winner!

  2. luna permalink
    November 5, 2008 12:41 pm

    i live in nyc and i love this band. they are musically really tight, they look great and they give you that rock and roll feeling that you don’t get too often anymore. plus they seem like cool guys- not assholes at all. i really hope they win!!!

  3. April Ramone permalink
    April 24, 2009 12:22 pm

    I just read that the Dirty Pearls are playing NY’s Bowery Ballroom this Saturday, April 25th, 2009, as what’s billed to be the best show ever, intriducing the Pearlettes! I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

