Skip to content

The Perfect Party Playlist

October 26, 2008

I’ve been working on creating a perfect playlist for a party coming up. Apparently, I can now add DJ to my resume. Its harder than it sounds, but it has been a lot of fun and I’ve come across a lot of great songs in the process that I’m either just now discovering or had forgotten about completely.

I tried to make it appropriate for all age groups, and consist of great, recognizable songs that would have everyone pumped up and excited. Check it out:

Cheap Trick-Ain’t That a Shame (Live)->I picked this song to start with because it is upbeat, attention-grabbing, and has a great instrumental intro I really like. Plus, I just love Cheap Trick.

Rock Around The Clock-Bill Haley

The Loco-motion-Little Eva

The Twist-Chubby Checker

Give Me Just A Little More Time-Chairmen of the Board (I live in NC…a good shag number is necessary.)

My Boyfriend’s Back-Angels

Come See about Me-Supremes

O Pretty Woman-Roy Orbison

At The Hop-Danny & the Juniors

Return To Sender-Elvis

Baby I love you-Ramones

You’ve Made Me so Very Happy-Blood Sweat and Tears

Do you Believe in Magic-the Lovin’ Spoonful

Wake Me Up Before you Go-Go-Wham!

Walk Like an Egyptian-Bangles

Purple People Eater-Sheb Wooley (really. who doesn’t love this song.)

Little Darlin-The Diamonds

I love Rock N Roll-Joan Jett

Dancing Machine-Jackson 5

Don’t Stop Believin’-Journey

and of course, the old staples of the Macarena, The Electric Slide, and the Chicken Dance, just to get everyone moving.

that isn’t everything, I have about 3 hours of material. But with songs like these, I can’t imagine people wouldn’t wanna get up and dance or sing along. All these songs make me happy whenever I hear them.

What about you? If you could make a perfect playlist, what would you put on it?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

