Skip to content

Project #4

October 26, 2008

The Doors-The Doors, 1967

So I haven’t been writing about artists on my list of 1,001 greatest albums as much as I meant to, but since I’ve been on a tirade recently against the Doors, I decided it might be ok to skip ahead and get their review out of the way.

I may be biased in this one because the Doors aren’t one of my favorite bands. In fact, I think they may well be one of the most overrated bands, ever. Now, don’t get me wrong. They have some good points. They’re decent musicians, and I like their use of an organ. Morrison has a good voice for the most part, and they put on a good show. I know this from watching youtube clips. In fact, I really first got into the Doors through youtube, watching Morrison perform. He is handsome, charismatic, and effective in commanding your attention. Of course, most of his best moments came when he was too drunk to contain himself. But I digress.

The main reason I eventually turned away from the Doors is that I simply found them too pretentious. I think Jim had false allusions of grandeur for himself. And his fans buy into it. All this talk about his poetic genius is just entirely unwarranted. I’ve never thought his cryptic, mysterious persona was much to be proud of–It just seems to me people see it and assume he is saying something profound, they just don’t understand it. My view is that there is nothing much to understand. He was drunk when he wrote the song, drunk when he performed it, and to a non-drunk, it doesn’t mean anything at all. You can disagree with me if you want. But in my view, 90% of Doors songs are just idiotic, drunken ramblings. People just love the myth of a misunderstood, troubled artist.

Now, to discuss this specific Album-The Doors.

why it is awesome:Their debut record, and in my humble opinion, probably their best record, period. Like I said, I like their music. I like their blues-y stylings, and I think they’re generally pretty creative from that standpoint. Its just the stupid lyrics that I can’t get around.

Why it isn’t so awesome: JIm Morrison. Stupid, pointless lyrics. He never says anything profound, he never comes up with anything new or unusual. Just the same old thing. Sex, mainly. Besides that, what is the “Other Side”? why do I want to go there? Here is another one…fingers weave quick minarets-Speak in secret alphabets-I light another cigarette? Trying too hard to rhyme I think. Alabama Song is hands down my least favorite. And “The End’ is just an oedipal disturbance.

What makes the Album a Standout: Musicianship. Like I said, I think the organ is an ingenious addition. One really doesn’t even miss the bass. Morrison has a fairly good voice too, effective and convincing.

Favorite Song: Back Door Man. I can’t discredit a cover from a Blues Master. Howlin’ Wolf, of course, being the original artist.

Final Consensus: Eh. The Doors are never a band I go out of my way to listen to. Although, I can’t disregard them completely. I wonder what they could have given us had Morrison been sober. Actually, I think he may be one of those cases where his best music would be made under the influence, and the “magic” (if you can call it that) would be lost if he cleaned up. You never know though, he certainly had something in him. I know he was intelligent. If I had to offer you any advice, I would say stick to a greatest hits compilation if you wanna get a taste of the doors. Or do what i do, and youtube the songs when you need a fix. They’re much better when accompanied with visuals.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

