Skip to content

Nikki Sixx doesn’t listen to Miley Cyrus

September 14, 2008

Ok, so Nikki Sixx likes to talk. And for whatever reason, now he has made people angry by telling them that the Jonas Brothers and other popular teen groups “aren’t rock n roll.” Franky, when I first read it two days ago, nothing about this statement seemed all that controversial to me. Are we really surprised that Nikki Sixx isn’t a Miley fan? what did we expect from the man??? This isn’t news. Just the fact Rolling stone printed this article makes me discredit them further.

But anyway, it seems that now there is a storm raging across the internet as all the opinionated people of the world have come out of hiding to either attack or support his comment. Others are more into attacking Nikki personally. The best comments are from little Jobro fans who say wonderful things like “whoever u are nikki sixx u suck.. the jonas brothers are really talented .. by the way who are u? i love the jonas brothers n miley n i am sure that other people like them 2.. so get a job nikki six” and “Have you eeever gone to a Jonas Brothers?!!! They rock the house every time they performe!!!!!! They have huge amount of talent… Their songs have different rithms!!! They rock!” (I almost hate to make fun of a kid, but *gasp!* DIFFERENT RHYTHMS?!! WOW! NOT REALLY?!!) I didn’t read much farther than that, but I might go back later to see if there is more entertainment to be found.

Yea, so who knew anyone would care so much? After all, it is just kid music and everyone knows that, plus I wrote a post on this subject a month ago and no one read it. But Nikki is right, it is easy to walk into any mall and see how the whole “rock star” theme has taken over, and I do not blame him one bit for being frustrated by it. heck, I’m frustrated with it.

The central object that everyone seems to be hung up on is that by making this statement, Nikki Sixx has played the role of God in defining “Rock N Roll” for the masses, and the masses (silly kiddos) ain’t happy that suddenly, their idols have been demoted from Rock to pop. Most of the adults seem to think Nikki has no room to talk because he is just as fabricated as they are. Whatever. While I completely agree with Nikki and wholeheartedly stand by his statement, it does bring up an interesting question if you think about it…what is Rock N Roll? and Who really gets to decide what it is or isn’t?

So, What is rock. The more I thought about it, the more I wondered if I even know what it is. I think for most of us who love rock, it is pretty instinctive…we know what it is and what it isn’t, but we never really stop to put much thought into it. But now, I’m trying to stop and think for a minute, just so I don’t turn into a music snob (actually, it might be too late for that) who goes around telling people what is good and what is bad.

A few questions to ask:

  1. What makes Nikki a more “legitimate” star than these kids running around now?
  2. Must rock be rebellious?
  3. Is Rock about attitude, style, or musical taste? when you get right down to it, what sets good rock n roll apart from the rest?
  4. is it about how “real” it is? does rock gain some sort of legitimacy by being true to self? Is it really such a crime to be “manufactured”?

Like I said, I don’t have the answers, and my opinion certainly isn’t set in stone. I think rock IS about attitude. Its about pushing boundaries and moving forward…”shouting at your devils,” if you will. Its about saying what you need to say and not worrying about what goes on around you, and not letting anything keep you back. I hope Nikki Sixx would agree with that definition…afterall, he is the one who taught me everything I know 😉

But then, what if Miley Cyrus is being true to herself? what if the image out there is who she truly is…despite all the Disney hyper-sculpting and brand-labeling? That is when we run into problems, because honestly, none of us have never met her and we don’t know what she is like and what she is about. Of course, I have my doubts that she-or anyone-could truly be as cheesy as she comes off in public, but you never know. and if she IS just being herself, isn’t that pretty rock n roll?

One more point…often, my standard for how good music is is how shocking my parents would find it. each generation seems to be all about one-upping the previous in terms of rebelliousness and offensiveness. But why is that? is that necessarily true? and is it a good thing?? So can we therefore say that the Stones are no longer rock n roll because they’re not half so offensive as they were in the ’60’s, and every band since then has outdone them on the sleaziness scale? And anyway, should we be judging sweet 15 year old girls by how their lifestyle measures up against a 50-year-old man who made his reputation by playing nasty bass riffs (dang, Miley probably couldn’t even get her hand around a bass…) and snorting illegal drugs, crashing cars and sleeping with every girl in the US? Same for the JoBros (from now on, that is my name for them)…do we really want or NEED another Nikki? Why are we judging them because they’ve never smelt a cigarette and wear purity rings? (haha…on a second thought…don’t answer that question)

anyway, I’m obviously just rambling. Like I said, I don’t have all the answers and I surely don’t proclaim to know more than anyone else, so I’d be really interested in hearing some thoughts on this. Please, don’t be afraid to comment!

Rock ON y’all!!

ps-here is the link to the original article.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Emma permalink
    September 14, 2008 6:14 am

    the first comment on da page!! rock me ppl! but dnt undrstand anythin in this page… ehhh
    lololol
    wat a msssssss

  2. Emma permalink
    September 14, 2008 6:21 am

    hey look jus i knw ths thng dt mly s id nd f u wnna hv it ml moi

  3. r0ck0n permalink*
    September 14, 2008 8:46 am

    wow. I was going to delete that last comment but then I decided it might actually be trying to say something…without words. Now I really want that Emma girl to come out and decipher it for me.

  4. September 14, 2008 1:58 pm

    Well this is going to be a bit one sided because I just recently met and got to chat with Nikki but here it is…..Nikki Sixx is totally right, these kids are being promoted so hard by Walt Disney that it’s actually getting a bit pathetic. Has anyone seen the music video of some guy playing his piano in the sand by the beach? Guy sucks believe me, but the thing is that people will buy because Disney’s pushing it, you see although I agree with Nikki, there’s no way to change the inevitable, music changes and although most of us will always know what Rock and Roll really is, we might as well let the kids have their glory, I mean does anyone other than kids actually listen to the Jonas Brothers anyways? One other thing, in the Jonahs Brothers defense, they probably didn’t have a choice in the matter anyways, Disney is the one to blame, with their Disney dollars….make’s me sick…Ptuu,,,There is real talent out there and it’s not coming from inexperienced 12 year olds duhhhhh…..
    I’m not hatin’ though,,,,all the best to everyone who can make it in this dog eat dog industry…Much love,

    dale Goodie
    http://www.myspace.com/dalegoodie

  5. r0ck0n permalink*
    September 14, 2008 4:22 pm

    Dale, I agree with you 100% Thanks for the comment
    How did you get to meet Nikki? Thats pretty awesome! Ps, I checked out your myspace, good work 🙂 I look forward to hearing your album!

  6. September 19, 2008 4:42 am

    nob heads lol

  7. January 23, 2009 2:39 am

    Hey.. sorry it took so long to respond.. Thanks for your nice comments on my music, it does mean a lot!!
    My manager is good friends with him so I was lucky to get to hang with him in his dressing room for about an hour when they were in Toronto for Cruefest.. Sixx A.M was awesome!! Hey add me up on facebook if you use it =8′)

  8. January 30, 2009 4:13 pm

    thanks Dale! I will definitely add you right now 🙂

  9. Claws permalink
    March 15, 2010 12:29 pm

    You said it, rock is about being yourself, no matter what society pushes you to or what your manager dictates.
    So I would conclude that these disney stars aren’t even a little bit rocknroll, seeing as they do nothing on their own account and EVERYTHING they do is going by what the public wants them to do and what their bosses/parents/managers/reps say might make them more money, which brings me to an even more horrible point.
    These people don’t give a rat’s ass about music, most just get into it to get more money.

Leave a Reply

