Skip to content

Tommy Lee’s Newest Show–Battleground Earth

August 8, 2008

I’m a big fan of celebrity reality shows, I’ll admit it. I’ve seen them all-I watch Tori (Spelling) and Dean frequently, when Ozzy Osbourne had a show I watched that, and Gene Simmons Family Jewels is taped weekly on my TiVo.

But now, I have a new show to add to my list:

BATTLEGROUND EARTH-with Tommy Lee of Motley Crue and Ludacris-comes on TLC, Thursdays at 8/7c.
I actually think it was shown on another channel before this (I feel like I’ve been hearing about it for months already) but this is the first time it has been on a channel I get in my cable package, so be it.

Anyway, last night I watched the pilot episode,and despite the inherent weirdness in the premise (a rock star and a rap star battling to be the most successful in teaching the world to recycle) it seems like its going to be a good show. The major points made were that these stars can use their power in productive and effective members of society through encouraging their fans to follow their example and live greener, more earth-friendly lives. Its fun because the stars are actively learning how to live better as the show progresses (at the beginning, they don’t seem to have any idea what it means to be “green”–and I’m pretty sure they’re not faking their ignorance) , and we’re learning right along with them. They then put their new knowledge to the test through “challenges” where they have to compete against each other, and at the end, they play a show in which the winner is the headliner and the loser is the opening act 🙂 haha. that’ll be a good show, I can tell.

Highlights:

*Tommy Lee sends one of his teammates home in favor of some girl he spots singing Joan Jett’s “I Love Rock N Roll” in a club…and he literally drags her off the stage and (despite her wrestling to get away from him) convinces to join him on his quest.
*Ludacris is shocked to hear he is asked to commit to “30 days…with no pay??!”
*Stars and their team visit a neighborhood wrecked by Hurricane Katrina, and, touched by his surroundings and moved to do something to help out, Luda suggests that he and Tommy drop the competition and just work together to help make things better. Tommy agrees this is a good idea.
*Tommy cheats and abandons Luda in the neighborhood as he speeds off down the street.
*Team battles to be the first to build a tower of solar panels for the neighborhood.
*Tommy cheats again.
*Luda declares “ITS ON. NO RULES.”

and so we have it. this is going to be a mad battle indeed. I wonder if Luda knows what hes in for, and if he can possibly match Tommy’s craziness. Frankly, I wish Tommy would get a little more serious, his reckless attitude toward the game makes him seem less than sincere, sometimes. If he isn’t serious about going green, chances are his fans won’t be, either.

overall, good start though, and I will definitely be tuning in to the rest of the series!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. greencleansustainable permalink
    August 22, 2008 1:36 pm

    This is a great show. I love how it isn’t preachy. There are no boring presentations, or numbers, or data, explaining in inaccessible terms how to save the planet. It’s just great reality TV fun with a good message. Love the blog!

Trackbacks

  1. Battleground Earth UPDATE!!!

Leave a Reply

