Skip to content

Hellacopters

July 10, 2008

Its official: I love the Hellacoptors.  I recently heard their song “Sign of the Octopus” and immediately decided they were going to be my new favorite band, just because of that one song. Octopus is one of those songs that is perfectly suited for summertime…a “crank it up and drive fast and roll down the windows” type of song. I love it! Its generally just exciting to listen to. I don’t really know what they lyrics are, and I don’t really care. It doesn’t matter as long as I’m having a great time.

After listening to my fill of the Octopus song, I decided to to check out the rest of their discography, so I headed out and got their 1999 album, “Grande Rock.” My analysis: good stuff…maybe not on par with, say, Motley Crue (my standard for everything, apparently), but definitely fun and listenable. This is one band that never lost their feel for 80’s style rock ‘n’ roll.

I’ve only listened through the album twice so far (so perhaps I will change my assessment as i gain more familiarity with the Hellacopters) but I’m pretty happy with it. The songs have a heavy emphasis on the guitars, sometimes to the point the guitar part covers the vocals. Each of the 12 tracks flows easily and comfortably into the next, and I actually listened through half the CD before I realized that I wasn’t listening to one big, long song. To their credit,there was never a point where I felt like I needed to fast forward or skip a track, but at the same time I also never feel like there is one particular song on the album I want to listen to over and over again. Unfortunately, the lyrics reflect a disillusionment and dissatisfaction in the world and in the band-members’ lives, and they never seem to suggest any ideas of hope or rising from the ashes. Thats not necessarily a fault, but I have to wonder what is going on in their lives to make them feel that way. Overall, I really enjoyed listening to this record, there is no doubt in my mind I’ll pick it up again for another listen soon.

Unfortunately, the band is breaking up, and their most recent album (the one that features the Octopus song) is supposed to be their last. I’m sorry to hear that. I’m just starting to really get into their music. I wish them best of luck in whatever it is they’re going to pursue next…maybe in 10 years they’ll have a reunion or something. Hey, you never know.

for those of you who are interested, here is Sign of the Octopus. Hope you enjoy! It’s a little different in style from the album I just reviewed, but awesome nonetheless!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

