Skip to content

White Zombie

July 9, 2008

Alright, so in order to fully appreciate this story, you need a little background information. I work at an art gallery in downtown Raleigh. Its a pretty classy place, representing some of the best contemporary southern artists and dealing to a lot of rich, sophisticated individuals. The owner (my boss) is a 60-year old, short, portly, balding fellow who listens to nothing but classical, opera, and Nina Simone. its a fact, the man owns over 30 Nina Simone records. I know, I counted one day. For heaven’s sake, I didn’t even know Ms. Simone had that many records until I started working here. Anyway, He has been vocal about his dislike of “rock ‘n’ roll” and I’ve even stopped carrying my Aerosmith purse to work, just to make sure I don’t cross any lines.

So with that said, you can imagine my shock and surprise when I discovered-wedged behind an old painting and the back wall of the storage closet- a 1989 WHITE ZOMBIE POSTER for Make Them Die Slowly.

I never laughed so hard in my life.

As it turns out, Sean Yseult (White Zombie’s bassist) is a friend of my boss. And if it couldn’t get weirder, he has some of her drawings in the gallery right now. I actually found them the other day, but never connected the dots–Sean Yseult the artist is the same Sean Yeult bassist. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t over-impressed with her work. Although, I daresay it would be dramatically improved if she would take advantage of proper framing.

Anyway, small world, huh?

and no, he wouldn’t give me the poster. I asked. dangit.

I feel like I should work upon these connections and at least try to get an interview or something. How fun would that be?!

ROCK ON, Y’ALL!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

