Skip to content

Vinyl Anyone?

July 7, 2008

So I was born in the 1980’s, and by the time I was old enough to care what I listened to, CD’s and cassette tapes had largely replaced the old vinyl records earlier generations were familiar with. thats not to say I wasn’t familiar with vinyl-my grandparents had a turntable (actually, they had two) in their basement and I remember sitting down there for hours playing with it. However, I never really considered vinyl to be superior to (or worse than) my CDs and other recordings. I never even thought about it, or cared one way or the other. At least, not until recently.

I first got interested in vinyl again when I was dawdling around in an antique shop a couple months ago. There were boxes of old records, all selling for just 50 cents or so apiece, and it dawned on me that maybe records would be more economical than spending $10 every time I want a CD. I don’t know if that theory will hold true because I don’t know how much records sell for in a regular music store.  There’s also the problem that I don’t really know where to buy a lot of records, especially recent releases. I know they’re still made, so someone is buying them, but where are they? my local music stores don’t carry records. Finally, I don’t really know where to start my collection-are some records preferable to others?

I know, all these questions! I’d be glad for anyone’s input–why do (or don’t) you like vinyl? let me know!

thanks guys!

ROCK ON

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 7, 2008 11:24 pm

    Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

Leave a Reply

