Skip to content

It’s A Nice Day To Start Again

July 1, 2008

One of my best friends just had to go through the pain of losing her younger brother last week. He was only 15. An active kid, always outdoors and having fun, goofing around…I didn’t know him very well myself, but every time I saw her it seemed like she had a new story of something silly he had done. The fact that he had been born with serious heart problems and was truly fortunate that modern medicine had kept him alive this long didn’t make his death less painful for anyone. It is such a sad, tragic loss whenever a young, promising person dies so soon.

I’ve been thinking about him a lot the past week, and struggling to understand why he had to go (as if I can ever understand), and just feeling angry that my friend and her family have to deal with such seemingly unnecessary pain and suffering. Through it all, these lyrics have really struck me:

There is nothin’ fair in this world
There is nothin’ safe in this world
And there’s nothin’ sure in this world
And there’s nothin’ pure in this world
Look for something left in this world
Start again

(Billy Idol, White Wedding)

Rarely does a lyric hit so close to the truth. I think it makes me feel better just to know that someone else is as disillusioned as I am with the idea that everything is ultimately “good”, yet they’re able to rationalize around that and say “sure…life is hard. sometimes we’re left with nothing but maybe…just maybe we can make something out of this nothing. We just gotta try again and find it.” I like that. As much as the world has failed me, and with all the pain and sadness I feel and see around me, eventually, we can all pick ourselves up and move on…and hopefully find what is worth living for.

Y’know, Billy Idol is often typecast as being some sort of a cartoon character, and I think that is something he wants for himself as an artist. But underneath it all, he is often more “real” than many others in the music industry. His music can be sleazy and sexy and all that…but thats not all it is. He always manages to instill an element of something deeper, a grain of truth among all the fluff. I always feel like he understands how the world works, and how we as humans fit into it. Maybe that is too deep…maybe I’m reading too much into it. All I know is right now, he struck a chord with my heart.

Bless You

and Rock ON

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

