Skip to content

Thats what dreams are made of…

June 29, 2008

I’ve only got 2 more years left of school before I have to get out and find a job and (boo) continue on to grad school…should I actually (miraculously?!) be accepted into one.

I’m really, really ready to be done with this and move on with my life. Specifically, iIve been thinking about what my apartment should look like. I actually kind of need to start thinking about it, because apartments in Chapel Hill can’t be gotten at the last minute. The Requirements: must have 1 bedroom, 1 bath, a living area and kitchen, and hopefully some sort of other little room I can turn into an “office”—aka, place to store junk. See, I have a bit of a music and memorabilia collection that I don’t know what to do with, and it is very important to me that it has a place to live, so I plan on lining the “office” walls with it. Importantly, the door must be easily shut to hide all said junk from my parents when they come to visit.

My main concern is my humongus Brokeback Mountain movie poster that i don’t know what to do with. I don’t know what that is my primary concern, but it is. I really want to hang it up, but at the moment I have zero wall space and zero money for proper poster-framing.

the second concern is that I have another collection of Victorian prints and Parisian paintings (heyy…I’m an art major, afterall…) that I feel aren’t going to mesh with my Bon Jovi “action figures.” A clash of interests is what it is called.

Finally, ‘ve decided to paint the walls Deep Purple (hardy har har…that wasn’t intentional.) and get some of that fuzzy felt-y wall paper to match, but only put the paper on one wall. yea, you know the kind I’m talking about, your grandma used to have it in her bathroom back in the ’70’s. What else…floor to ceiling bookshelves, definitely. a place for my piano and other random intstruments I’ve collected, you betcha! and a lifesize cardboard cutout of Nikki Sixx??!! WHERE CAN I GET ONE.

This room is going to look god-awful. I know it. I don’t really care.

I feel like I need to get it out of my system before someone decides I’m worth marrying and won’t let me get away with it anymore. So for now, I do what I want. Don’t care if you think my decorating is horrendous. what does it matter? At least my Brokeback Mountain poster has a home. And with that, I’ll be happy.

Here’s a question, I don’t know if anyone ever reads this blog, but if they do—whats the craziest decorating idea you ever had?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

