Skip to content

NEW RELEASE-Motley Crue’s SOLA

June 26, 2008

yes, of course this was coming.

SAINTS OF LOS ANGELES, LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, IS NOW ON SHELVES IN STORES ALL AROUND THE WORLD.

finally. seems like I’ve been waiting for ages. I listened to it yesterday (if you’re interested, you can find it free at iheartmusic.com) and I have to say, I was simultaneously surprised and disappointed. I was surprised because somehow, the album went far beyond my expectations, but disappointed because at the same time I didn’t think it was as strong as the first all-new-release-in-ten-years should have been.

Frankly, When I first read the track listing, I was more than skeptical. “girls=trouble”? “down at the whiskey?” what the hell. Makes me think of amateur night at a local equivalent of the Wildhorse Saloon. I mean, this is Motley we’re talking about. 27 years experience in songwriting should at least pay off in the form of decent titles.

When I listened to the tracks themselves, though, I was pleased to realize many of them weren’t half as bad as their stinky titles had led me to expect. “Saints of LA” was a definite winner, to be sure, and “MF of the Year” is catchy and upbeat. Actually, most of the songs on the record are incredibly catchy and fun to listen to. Even the ones I think aren’t so great lyrically are still easy to hum along with. What else… “Animal in Me” was a great ballad-ish song, and my personal favorite. IMO, It is also has some of the best lyrics of the whole album. Ok, so it isn’t all that profound, but its honest and it reflects an emotion/feeling anyone can relate to. And it doesn’t sound forced, like some of they lyrics on the record seem to be.

Anyway, Chicks=Trouble is one song that definitely suffers, although that might be more because I still hate the title, and the White Trash Circus is plain stupid. Just Another Psycho isn’t one of my favorites, either. It seemed to me that this album actually focused more on how crazy (literally crazy??!) and f-ed up all the bandmembers are than anything else. I understand that they’re just trying to tell their story, and yea, they probably were pretty coked out of their minds for most of the ’80’s so it’d be hard to not include a song about it…but why so many of them? half the songs on the album referenced the fact that they’re a bunch of twisted individuals. I wish instead they would have recalled some of their other notable adventures-the sex and the drugs and the rock-n-roll we all love them for. But then, what would set the record apart from every other Motley release…all which revolve entirely around sex and drugs and rock n roll? I guess thats the predicament.

Would I recommend this record? yea. I mean, the whole thing is definitely listenable, except for the first track-a spoken intro by Vince-which is so cheesy and unremarkable the whole album would gain 5 more stars if it had been left off. Skip that one. And as I mentioned, a couple songs are kind of boring and almost immature from a lyrical standpoint, but I expect you can probably tune them out fairly easily and then tune back in when it is time for the “good” songs. But then, some songs are stellar and completely worth your time and money. I definitely suggest you try the free listen and iheartmusic and see what you think. I will say this–most bands tend to put their best songs at the very beginning of the record, and then the last tracks seem to fizzle out in comparison. Not so with Motley Crue…Actually, in this case you’ll be better off starting in the middle and then working your way back around. Leave it to Motley to start their album at track 5…but whatever. Knowing them, I guess I should have expected that.

And of course, good luck to Tommy Lee, Nikki Sixx, Mick Mars and Vince Neil, love you guys! I do wish the best for this record, even if it isn’t my favorite so far. And of course, SOLA tour starts this coming week! I’m pretty bummed I’m not going to Cruefest (lack of money and cruefan friends who are willing to go with me) but I’m sure it’ll be a good show. And I’m pretty excited about it, even though I’m not going. Can’t explain that one, but it is true.

Anyway, it is now time for me to get off here and go to bed. love y’all!!

ROCK ON

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Miles permalink
    August 19, 2008 5:54 pm

    Motherfcker of the Year (the music video is on iheartmusic.com/motleycrue

  2. Ricky Sparks permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:43 am

    SOLA should have been the theme song to Saint’s Row 2.

Leave a Reply

