Skip to content

Diversity

March 15, 2010

Part of my problem with writing a music blog is that none of my tastes fit into any sort of cohesive category. Just in the last 24 hours, I have listened to Dogs D’Amour, Joni Mitchell, and Montgomery Gentry. On any given day, I might flip between Johnny Cash and Ella Fitzgerald. I might throw in some obscure 80’s hair band, or I might even decide to play some uber-cheesy Lady gaga-esque pop.

The point is, I have no idea what my musical taste is and when I started this blog, I started it as an opportunity to explore a particular genre of music (that is, predominately hair metal) as part of the internet community. I realized quite quickly though, I can’t stay in one category….I just don’t listen to any one thing regularly enough to focus on it. While I’ve certainly not stopped listening to music, it is sometimes difficult for me to blog about it because I dont really have any particular  focus.

But anyway….hope you’ll forgive me for my long periods of absence :)

here’s a song that I’ve really been jamming to lately, enjoy!

I told you I was all over the place :P I’ve always loved Kenny Rogers. In fact, his Christmas CD is one of only two that I ever listen to. He’s got such a gentle, approachable voice. However, has he ever been young?? I don’t think Ive ever seen a picture of him where he isn’t white haired and bearded. and Dolly Parton….what isn’t there to say about Dolly?? she’s just all-around fabulous, a timeless act. She was so beautiful back in the day, too. Shame she decided to cut herself up :(

rock on!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2010 10:47 am

    Oh, one of my favourite songs ever is Jolene by Dolly Parton. So much emotion in that one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

