Skip to content

Elvis’s Last Concert

December 1, 2009

Wow, long time no see, eh? Seems like I’ve come to the point where every post i write is begun with a paragraph explaining my last hiatus. There’s no sense in that, though. Here I am back again, regardless…with another post. So just enjoy it while it lasts!

Now, I’m an Elvis fan and have been for some time. This video is not new to me, but it may be for some. In my opinion this is among the best clips on youtube, and if you’re not an Elvis fan now, I’m confident this can convert you.

I love the beginning, when he “forgets the words.” Whether or not he actually did forget the words or was just having a bit of fun with the song is up for debate, but either way, his humility and humor shines through. I hope that clip makes you smile as it made me :)

I love his version of My Way. Sometimes it is possible for us to hear Elvis so much that we begin to stop paying attention to him. We get use to hearing his version of Blue suede Shoes or Hound Dog or Suspicious Minds or In the Ghetto, or what ever else…and after a while they fail to impress us. Hearing him sing this song, one that I’m not all that used to hearing him sing, what strikes me the most is just what a powerful, beautiful voice he had. So often I really underestimate what a talented singer he was.

Besides that, the pure stage presence he exhibits is astonishing. I could not take my eyes off of him while he was singing. He’s emotive and honest, the words come from somewhere deeper inside of him. When he sings “and to think I did all that” he genuinely sounds surprised and astonished at himself. As he sings, he really gives the impression that he is reflecting on his own life in the lyrics, and is singing the story of his own life.

For an artist to pull that off with a another artist’s signature song and make it his own is a challenge in itself, and when it is pulled off so well it truly is remarkable.

Thanks for letting me share that. I’ve been watching it over and over this week, and enjoy it just the same every time.

ROCK ON

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 9:39 pm

    Glad to see you back…again.

  2. Jenny permalink*
    December 1, 2009 9:45 pm

    hi JT! good to see you still around! :)

  3. December 11, 2009 11:44 am

    Fantastic, I did not know about that until now. Thankz.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

