Skip to content

Pride and Glory

March 29, 2009

So I’ve been MIA again, but this time I have a good excuse…since my last post I’ve been stuck in Ukraine with no internet access. While I wish that was a bad joke, it is actually the truth…man, had you told me a year ago that I would be in Ukraine meeting with the American ambassador and touring orthodox monasteries, I would have laughed at you…life is bizarre sometimes. Everything about my life right now is just surreal.

anyway, whatever.

here’s what I’ve been diggin’ lately….Pride and Glory, Zakk Wylde’s post-Ozzy project. Its surprisingly good, although I don’t really know why I’m surprised…it came out in 1994, and as far as I know hasn’t been re released in the last 10 years, so it might be a little hard to find outside of the internet, but totally worth it if you can get your hands on it…Its heavy and bluesy; Zakk has a soulful quality to his voice that really strikes a nerve with me. its both tender yet forceful and fierce. Its exactly what it should be. and of course…Zakk is one of the guitar heroes of our generation, so that element is spot on, as well. THAT wasn’t a surprise. I don’t underestimate Zakk’s guitar playing, that’s for sure.

take a listen:

I’m so glad someone posted this album on youtube!!! Love this song.

and of course a ballad…

that touches me every time…strong lyrics, a beautiful melody, and Zakk’s voice and guitar are expressive and moving.

ok, I can’t fake it…I don’t really have much to say, kind of tired, honestly, even though you’d think 18 hours on a train would give me plenty of time to rest…oh well…so this is all I’ve got now :) just wanted to take a few minutes and let you know I’m alive and share what is on my mind…

enjoy the pride and glory!

Zakk Wylde is truly one of my favorites…always seems like such a great guy, and also such a talented musician. Five stars, check it out:)

(oh and ps if you’re ever curious about my travels, you can check me out at jennygoestopoland.wordpress.com!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 1:10 pm

    I love, love, love Pride & Glory!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

