Skip to content

Collections…

March 14, 2009

I never understand how I can have so much music…hundreds of albums, thousands of songs…and yet still feel like I have nothing to listen to. Anyone else have this problem? I tend to justify my music purchases by saying “if I enjoy it its worth the money.” Well, the truth is, usually I listen to it once and then throw it on top of my pile. I forget I have it. I haven’t gotten my money’s worth out of half the CDs I’ve bought, and instead I listen to the same 5 favorites on repeat, until I finally get bored and decide to buy something new and fresh (even though there is bound to be something new and fresh and already paid for in my closet). I started going through my CDs some this summer, and I’ve been trying to take inventory. It needed organizing badly, if for no other reason than so I know what I’ve got. The other day someone mentioned an album and I thought, “I have never heard of that in my life!” only to come home and find the damn thing in my own music file. I realize that I’ve lost control. I’m also hoping to get to the point where I can trade with other people.

So, I’m actually pretty proud of my list at the moment. I’ve got a really spiffy Excel document going, and it looks impressive :) I’m also hoping it’ll be a place I can record information on each album…including what I paid for it. I think it’ll be interesting to look back on one day and see how many millions of dollars I’ve spent on music during my lifetime. It’ll be something ridiculous, I know.

Anyway, I know none of y’all care. But I’m thinking maybe as I start filling in the information on each album, I’ll give it a listen again, and try to write something about it here :) that’ll at least give me a framework/subject matter for future posts, since I’ve been kind of brain-dead and out of ideas lately. And if you see anything come up that you don’t have (and is no longer in print…give the artists their due) give me a holler I’ll be glad to upload it for ya :)

Rock ON!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. holepuncher permalink
    March 20, 2009 2:57 pm

    Sounds like an interesting project. I definitely have CDs that I’ve listened to only once or twice. I actually dug one out a couple months ago, listened to it again for the first time in years, and despite not thinking it’s all that great, still don’t see myself parting with it anytime soon. I think that’s called “a problem.” Ha.

  2. holepuncher permalink
    March 23, 2009 12:20 pm

    You see that DJ from Sixx A.M. has joined GNR???

  3. March 29, 2009 7:16 pm

    yeah I did!! I don’t know what to think about that…not sure I’m happy, though…

  4. Carmen permalink
    May 26, 2009 5:54 pm

    I’d be happy to trade, I’ve got a fairly respectable collection of approx. 150 gigs of rock/metal. By the way thanks for the nod to Pink Cream, I’m glad I found them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

